Blueberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Works great with ener-g egg replacer plus 1/2 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Yummy, dense, and moist! Substituted oil for applesauce and added 3 tbs flax meal, also did both raspberry & blueberries. Then made a streusel topping from a blueberry crumb muffin recipe on this site. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
These are my new favorite blueberry muffins. I used to make the "To Die For..." ones, but these are easier and just as tasty. I have made two modifications: (1) I use 1 cup of white whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of oat bran instead of the full 1.5 cups of white flour. (2) I add a 1/4 cup of flax seed. Otherwise, I follow the recipe. The mix doesn't rise much so don't be afraid to fill the muffin cups almost all the way to the brim. Great recipe! Thanks! I am thinking about adding some orange zest the next time in order to punch of the orange flavor a bit. They don't need it, but it might be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Pretty good overall, but dense like cake. I like the orange juice thrown in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I just made these muffins and they turned out delicious. Much better than the: To Die For Blueberry Muffins. I did not taste any extra baking powder or "quemical" taste in mine. And yes, the texture is not like your usual muffin. Everyone liked them. I made 6 exactly like the recipe and 6 without the topping-both where good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Tastes good but the muffin is really crumbly, more like a scone or a biscuit rather than a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
these were a really tasty hearty muffin... loved the hint of orange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I had to change these quite a bit due to my son's food intolerances, but maybe these changes will work for someone else too. First, I used gluten free oats. Although oats themselves are gluten free, they are often processed in plants that also process wheat. Second, I used water instead of orange juice, dextrose instead of white sugar, gluten free all purpose flour instead of regular flour, and extra light tasting olive oil instead of regular vegetable oil. I sprinkled the tops with brown sugar mixed with cinnamon. The batter was extremely thick, but the muffins, although not smooth like regular muffins, did hold together after baking and cooling. My son was so pleased to get a treat that he can eat. Thank you for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Joined All Recipes specifically to save/rate this recipe. Love it! I'll be using just a little less salt next time but this will definitely be my go-to blueberry muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I was looking for a good muffin recipe that used oats and this was it! Although being apple season, I used apples instead of blueberries and apple cider in place of the orange juice. I also added some honey, vanilla and spices - cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice, and they came out wonderfully! Thanks to the advice of other reviewers, I did add probably an extra quarter cup of cider and between that and the extra moisture from the apples, these muffins came out moist and delicious!! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States