Blueberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I did mix the ingredients up a little differently. After the orange juice and oatmeal had a chance to sit for 10 minutes, I stirred in the white sugar, vegetable oil and egg. Once those were combined, I folded in the dry ingredients and the blueberries. I did get 12 biggish muffins out of this recipe. I baked them at 350* for a little over 20 minutes. These looked very pretty and were moist with the perfect amount of sweetness. The flavor that the orange juice gave to the muffins was a nice addition. My family enjoyed these muffins, especially slathered with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I have been making this recipe for years and I can't believe I have never reviewed it! This is my go to recipe for muffins -they always get rave reviews and everyone asks for the recipe. I substitute whole wheat flour for half the flour called for. I also add 1 tsp of vanilla for a little more flavor. I have also made this with strawberries and they are great. Seriously, thank you so much for this recipe, I make it ALL the time!! (The batter also freezes really well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This is a great way to change up your ordinary blueberry muffin. I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and used half splenda/half sugar. Also added 1 tsp. vanilla... Nice addition to the healthy food repertoire. I am looking forward to trying this with cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSTRAWDER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
good muffins, even after all my modifications! I used freshly ground whole wheat flour, honey with an additional 1/4 tsp of soda instead of sugar, applesauce for the oil, added 1 tsp of vanilla (we love vanilla) and left off the sugar topping. Next time I may use a little more than a cup of blueberries - ran out of blueberries for the last muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I found that if you follow the amount of baking powder in this recipe as directed, it is just way too much. It leaves a chemical taste to the muffins. Not good!! I actually did a little research (Wikipedia is awesome!) on why this is... when a recipe has excess acidity (as this one does due to the OJ) the baking power doesn't fully react and you get that chemical taste left behind. A number of reviewers said that they halved the amount of baking power just by intuition. Well, I guess there is science behind it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bode'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I just made these after getting the recipe in the weekly email. They are great muffins and my kids loved them. The batter is really stiff before adding the OJ and oats which made me think I was doing something wrong but they turn out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingdoc
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These were very easy to make and quite yummy! I agree that the texture was not like your typical muffin. The oats do make it a little closer to a scone or biscuit in texture, but personally I prefer this. I would say these are the best homemade muffin I've had! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingdoc

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scituate, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: King City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Everyone loved the muffins. I changed the recipe a bit to make them healthier. I used wheat flour, splenda for the sugar, eggbeater for the egg, natural appplesauce for the oil and I added orange extract for flavor. This way they fit into my WW and heart consious diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
absolutely delicious! i even used frozen blueberries but you couldn't tell that they weren't fresh. they tasted amazing right out of the oven, later that night, the next morning, etc., but my roommates liked them so much that they didn't last much longer than that... p.s. i added an extra crunch to the top by mixing oatmeal in with the cinnamon and sugar. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Very good muffins. I followed the recipes as is and added fresh peaches also, approx 1/2 a cup along with the blueberries. I will make these again. They are perfect hot with a bit of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States