Blueberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
absolutely delicious! i even used frozen blueberries but you couldn't tell that they weren't fresh. they tasted amazing right out of the oven, later that night, the next morning, etc., but my roommates liked them so much that they didn't last much longer than that... p.s. i added an extra crunch to the top by mixing oatmeal in with the cinnamon and sugar. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I followed the receipe exactly but used frozen berries instead of fresh ones. The outcome...top extremely crispy like a snap and inside with absolutely no flavor other than when I bite into a fruit. In my second batch (I can only bake 6 muffins at a time), I added 2 extra tablespoons of white sugar & 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon into the mix. I also stir until the berries break open. The muffins were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingdoc
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These were very easy to make and quite yummy! I agree that the texture was not like your typical muffin. The oats do make it a little closer to a scone or biscuit in texture, but personally I prefer this. I would say these are the best homemade muffin I've had! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingdoc

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scituate, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: King City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Thank you for the recipe, these were awesome. I used the scale adjuster here at allrecipes and changed it down to 6 servings so it would fit in my toaster oven and it worked out perfectly. I substituted the topping, I used the topping recipe from Heather Walker's "Streusel Topped Blueberry Muffins" here at allrecipes.com. My daughter and I are now completely addicted. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These were very good muffins! I used frozen berries. I liked the texture; they were a bit denser than a regular muffin. The oats give a bit of a nutty flavor and a little chewiness. They had the perfect amount of sweetness. The cinnamon/sugar topping is deliciously crispy when the muffins are right out of the oven, but won't stay that way if you store the muffins in a container. These muffins are very satisfying and a little healthier than a standard muffin. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Everyone loved the muffins. I changed the recipe a bit to make them healthier. I used wheat flour, splenda for the sugar, eggbeater for the egg, natural appplesauce for the oil and I added orange extract for flavor. This way they fit into my WW and heart consious diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This is a great way to change up your ordinary blueberry muffin. I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and used half splenda/half sugar. Also added 1 tsp. vanilla... Nice addition to the healthy food repertoire. I am looking forward to trying this with cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSTRAWDER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I have been making this recipe for years and I can't believe I have never reviewed it! This is my go to recipe for muffins -they always get rave reviews and everyone asks for the recipe. I substitute whole wheat flour for half the flour called for. I also add 1 tsp of vanilla for a little more flavor. I have also made this with strawberries and they are great. Seriously, thank you so much for this recipe, I make it ALL the time!! (The batter also freezes really well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
good muffins, even after all my modifications! I used freshly ground whole wheat flour, honey with an additional 1/4 tsp of soda instead of sugar, applesauce for the oil, added 1 tsp of vanilla (we love vanilla) and left off the sugar topping. Next time I may use a little more than a cup of blueberries - ran out of blueberries for the last muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Delicious! I added 1/2 t of vanilla for extra flavor. They came out very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States