Blueberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
These are a staple whenever I have fresh blueberries. I found this recipe years ago and have been using it ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I made this low fat with whole wheat flour,1/2 cup of applesauce, 1/2 cup of blueberry yogurt instead of oil. They came out great and were very big-not flat at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
very good. will definitely make again. I used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 unsweetened applesause thanks to a comment from another reviewer. I also use white whole wheat flour (King Arthur) in place of the other all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teffer K
Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I was making a meal for a family whose son had dairy allergies and this recipe fit the bill. This recipe was easy to put together. It's very flavorful with the orange juice addition and that went well with the blueberries. My own kids loved it and I passed the recipe along to the family who received them. Thanks for a keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
We really liked these muffins! They weren't too sweet at all. Dense, yet moist. And we loved the crunch sweet topping. I didn't have orange juice, so I grabbed a snack-size cinnamon applesauce and mixed it with water and added to the oats instead. Used frozen blueberries, thawed and rinsed/dried and it turned out great! Made 6 jumbo muffins instead of 12 smaller ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I found that if you follow the amount of baking powder in this recipe as directed, it is just way too much. It leaves a chemical taste to the muffins. Not good!! I actually did a little research (Wikipedia is awesome!) on why this is... when a recipe has excess acidity (as this one does due to the OJ) the baking power doesn't fully react and you get that chemical taste left behind. A number of reviewers said that they halved the amount of baking power just by intuition. Well, I guess there is science behind it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bode'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These muffins were best right out of the oven! I added a little more blueberries than what the recipe called for because I love blueberries! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This is the best! I love this recipe.I did add 1 teaspoon of orange extract to the oat mixture just because I had it. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the batter. They stay moist and freeze very well. I did use a different crumb topping though so I can't comment on that.But thank you for sharing. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This muffin batter is so versitile - you can add any cut up fruit. I actually did not have blueberries so i substituted strawberries. (peaches will work as well.) They came out soft and light - considering they have oats in them! I made a struesel-oat topping - made from flour, oats, brown sugar, cinnamon and margerine - delicious and it added a really nice crunch to the top! I will be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
These were pretty good. I didn't make any changes to the recipe posted. My mom loved them; my friend and her siblings didn't so much. I liked that it didn't use so many blueberries, but I think I'll keep looking for a good low-fat high-fiber blueberry muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States