Blueberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
My new favorite blueberry muffin recipe. I had no problem with the amount of baking powder; but I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour, so that may be why (I often increase bking powder & soda when using whole wheat flour). I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil. I also only had rolled oats - so that's what I used with great results. This muffin is not cakey, and surprisingly not "gummy," which I expected from using the applesauce. It's hearty and just barely sweet, with an essence (not a flavor) of orange that is really lovely. Excellent with a pat of butter and some tea. Note that I've also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and 2 Tbsp of flax meal for a protein kick, and that made them even better. These crown perfectly and really hit the spot. I'm tossing my other blueberry muffin recipes, including the "to die for" one on allrecipes - this is what a blueberry muffin should taste like. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Wonderful muffin! Just loved it!! A few tweaks, to make it a little healthier.... I used 1/2 c. flour, 1/2 c. whole wheat flour, and 1/2 c. wheat germ to get the 1 1/2 cups needed for the flour. I also used 1/4 c. applesauce and 1/4 c. oil. I was out of eggs, so I used 1 T of ground flaxseed mixed with 3 T water (let it sit for a couple minutes before adding). Like other reviewers, I also added 1 tsp vanilla. Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Could be the best blueberry muffins I've ever had. Moist and extremely flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were excellent! I just pulled them out of the oven about 30 minutes ago and already my kids have eaten 3 mini muffins each. As per others recommendations, I added 1 tsp vanilla. Also, since I didn't have any veg oil on hand I substituted with applesauce. I will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I am horrible at baking but even I could not mess this one up. I made this muffins in an attempt to get fiber into my 2 year old so I used whole wheat flour in place of all-purpose. I used probably closer to 1 1/4 cups instead of 1 1/2. The muffins came out so good (and I usually don't like whole wheat flour muffins) I can't imagine how good they would be white white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These muffins had a wonderful flavor and texture. I used one blueberry and cream oatmeal packet along with 1/4 cup of oatmeal. Sprinkled a little oatmeal and cinnamon sugar on top. Also added 2 tsp of vanilla for flavor. My new favorite blueberry muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My muffins were just OK and rather bland, though I used sesame oil which is very flavorful. I will try some more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by original_guy
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Fantastic! Cut one and put some fresh butter on it while it's still warm...mmm. Can't wait to make them again -- super easy and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by original_guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is okay. It's like all the reviews say. Texture is scone-like, not cakey. Has a mild chemical taste, but the OJ flavour is intensified the next day. A shot of vanilla would have improved things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe. I like using the oats and orange juice for an added health benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States