Blueberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
These were pretty tasty and baking them was pretty easy and quick. Although they tasted good, I thought they were a bit bland. I think a bit of vanilla and some lemon zest would really add a nice kick. I'd also like them to be a little fluffier, more cake like. I did love the oats in the batter, I have never baked with oats. I would definitely give it a shot because you may enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These were very good with the changes I made based on the reviews. I substituted 1/2 c of flour for whole wheat, used 1/3 c of oil and 3/4 c of buttermilk + 1/4 tsp of orange extract instead of OJ. Also I didn't use salt at all and added 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp of soda. I use aluminum-free baking powder and haven't had any issues with metallic taste. These were very moist and delicious, not too sweet with just a touch of texture from oats and flour. They also kept well till the next morning (I did have to guard them though). My 2 year old enjoyed them very much, as well as the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I was surprised that theses weren't dry, but were really quite good. I baked the batter in an 11x7 glass dish for 20 min. I didn't add the cinnamon sugar topping and probably added a little more blueberries than called for. It was delicious and not overly sweet. Will definitely keep the recipe and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrLuvr130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
YUM!! These were absolutely delicious! I am on a restricted sodium diet, and I substituted the baking powder for the sodium-free baking powder I have. They turned out delicious. I did sneak a few more fresh blueberries in it than a cup, too! I will be making another batch tomorrow morning and will probably be making them often for many many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Used old fashioned oats, all whole wheat flour, fresh blueberries, and used only 1/4c of canola oil and 1/2c unsweetened applesauce. So good and you can really taste the orange juice. Different and semi-healthy with a few changes such as these. Kids enjoyed...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Tasty and quick-to-make muffins! I took the advice of other posters and used unsweetened applesauce in place of oil. I also used half white and half whole wheat flours and regular old-fashioned oats to make a healthier muffin. These will be great to throw in the freezer and defrost as needed for a quick breakfast. Thank you for the original recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Great flavor, odd texture though... maybe i didn't make them right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
YES! This is it! This is the best muffin recipe I've tried. But... I confess. I did make it my own. I was out of OJ so I made my own lemonade by zesting 1 lemon then microwaving it for 20 seconds and juicing well. (pulp and all) I poured that juice and zest into a 1/2 cup measuring cup and topped it off with water. I added 2 Tb of sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract to that. Then stirred in the oats and set aside. The only other changes I made were pretty basic. I added melted butter instead of vegetable oil and used a heaping cup of fresh blueberries. Instead of Sprinkling sugar and cinnamon on top I put on Vanilla Sugar (just a couple cups of sugar in a container with some post-use vanilla bean pods). These were a little dry when mixing it all together and I was nervous about that so I added in about 3-4 tablespoons of milk before folding in the blueberries. Mine came out moist, but set. I'll probably just make a little more lemonade mixture the next time I make these. Yes ... there will be a next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Amazing - but even better with whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup ground flax, applesauce instead of oil, and slice of banana baked into the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Healthy substitutes... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States