Blueberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These were very good muffins! I used frozen berries. I liked the texture; they were a bit denser than a regular muffin. The oats give a bit of a nutty flavor and a little chewiness. They had the perfect amount of sweetness. The cinnamon/sugar topping is deliciously crispy when the muffins are right out of the oven, but won't stay that way if you store the muffins in a container. These muffins are very satisfying and a little healthier than a standard muffin. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Everyone loved the muffins. I changed the recipe a bit to make them healthier. I used wheat flour, splenda for the sugar, eggbeater for the egg, natural appplesauce for the oil and I added orange extract for flavor. This way they fit into my WW and heart consious diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dix Hills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This is a great way to change up your ordinary blueberry muffin. I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and used half splenda/half sugar. Also added 1 tsp. vanilla... Nice addition to the healthy food repertoire. I am looking forward to trying this with cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSTRAWDER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I have been making this recipe for years and I can't believe I have never reviewed it! This is my go to recipe for muffins -they always get rave reviews and everyone asks for the recipe. I substitute whole wheat flour for half the flour called for. I also add 1 tsp of vanilla for a little more flavor. I have also made this with strawberries and they are great. Seriously, thank you so much for this recipe, I make it ALL the time!! (The batter also freezes really well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
good muffins, even after all my modifications! I used freshly ground whole wheat flour, honey with an additional 1/4 tsp of soda instead of sugar, applesauce for the oil, added 1 tsp of vanilla (we love vanilla) and left off the sugar topping. Next time I may use a little more than a cup of blueberries - ran out of blueberries for the last muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Delicious! I added 1/2 t of vanilla for extra flavor. They came out very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
A bit on the dry side, but overall pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Awesome muffins - not dry at all. Best fresh out of the oven; nice and tender with a beautiful crumb! I've tried all kinds of blueberry muffin recipes, and this one is easy, delicious and one of the best I've tried! I made two batches over the weekend with fresh-picked blueberries and am eating some for breakfast this morning. I wouldn't change a thing about this outstanding recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
These were simply wonderful, a nice alternative to the fat trap muffins at the coffee shop. I did make giant muffins out of them so they required a little more cooking time, but they were fabulous. I really enjoyed the hint of citrus from the orange juice and the nuttiness of the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chetwynd, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Harrisville, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Easy and good! My daughtert is allergic to milk so there something than she can eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States