Blueberry Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I found that if you follow the amount of baking powder in this recipe as directed, it is just way too much. It leaves a chemical taste to the muffins. Not good!! I actually did a little research (Wikipedia is awesome!) on why this is... when a recipe has excess acidity (as this one does due to the OJ) the baking power doesn't fully react and you get that chemical taste left behind. A number of reviewers said that they halved the amount of baking power just by intuition. Well, I guess there is science behind it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bode'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These muffins were best right out of the oven! I added a little more blueberries than what the recipe called for because I love blueberries! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This is the best! I love this recipe.I did add 1 teaspoon of orange extract to the oat mixture just because I had it. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the batter. They stay moist and freeze very well. I did use a different crumb topping though so I can't comment on that.But thank you for sharing. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This muffin batter is so versitile - you can add any cut up fruit. I actually did not have blueberries so i substituted strawberries. (peaches will work as well.) They came out soft and light - considering they have oats in them! I made a struesel-oat topping - made from flour, oats, brown sugar, cinnamon and margerine - delicious and it added a really nice crunch to the top! I will be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
These were pretty good. I didn't make any changes to the recipe posted. My mom loved them; my friend and her siblings didn't so much. I liked that it didn't use so many blueberries, but I think I'll keep looking for a good low-fat high-fiber blueberry muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
absolutely delicious! i even used frozen blueberries but you couldn't tell that they weren't fresh. they tasted amazing right out of the oven, later that night, the next morning, etc., but my roommates liked them so much that they didn't last much longer than that... p.s. i added an extra crunch to the top by mixing oatmeal in with the cinnamon and sugar. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I followed the receipe exactly but used frozen berries instead of fresh ones. The outcome...top extremely crispy like a snap and inside with absolutely no flavor other than when I bite into a fruit. In my second batch (I can only bake 6 muffins at a time), I added 2 extra tablespoons of white sugar & 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon into the mix. I also stir until the berries break open. The muffins were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingdoc
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These were very easy to make and quite yummy! I agree that the texture was not like your typical muffin. The oats do make it a little closer to a scone or biscuit in texture, but personally I prefer this. I would say these are the best homemade muffin I've had! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingdoc

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scituate, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: King City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Thank you for the recipe, these were awesome. I used the scale adjuster here at allrecipes and changed it down to 6 servings so it would fit in my toaster oven and it worked out perfectly. I substituted the topping, I used the topping recipe from Heather Walker's "Streusel Topped Blueberry Muffins" here at allrecipes.com. My daughter and I are now completely addicted. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These were very good muffins! I used frozen berries. I liked the texture; they were a bit denser than a regular muffin. The oats give a bit of a nutty flavor and a little chewiness. They had the perfect amount of sweetness. The cinnamon/sugar topping is deliciously crispy when the muffins are right out of the oven, but won't stay that way if you store the muffins in a container. These muffins are very satisfying and a little healthier than a standard muffin. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States