Blueberry Nut Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is a great, simple recipe. I didn't have applesauce, so I used about half a can of pumpkin puree instead. The batter was super thick so I added some buttermilk to thin it out. I also didn't have baking powder so I just used baking soda. It was great with frozen blueberries and chopped walnuts, and I left off the granola topping. Great way to get lots of nutrients in my diet, and my husband loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I made these muffins trying to get the most "bang for my buck" in terms of nutrition into my 15-month-old picky eater. He loved them as did my 34-year-old processed sugar lover husband! I rate the recipe as stated, but I did make two changes: I replaced 1/2 cup of white flour with 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and I did not have any cinnamon on hand so put a dash of allspice in. Fabulously moist and sweet. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Oh my goodness! These are absolutely fantastic - even my picky husband has devoured them! I doubled the recipe and got 30 muffins, not 24. I also substituted whole wheat flour, and sprinkled just a little brown sugar on top instead of the granola. Wow! Even a few days later, these muffins are just as moist, tasty and melt-in-your-mouth as when they were first baked. We froze the majority of them to have a quick breakfast on hand. Just defrost overnight in the fridge, and throw them in your toaster oven or mircrowave in the morning. Definitely beats skipping breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stareynoso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
A great healthy muffin. I use white whole wheat flour and fresh blueberries. Really tasty! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
These were very good - I followed a few suggestions and made the following changes though: half white flour, half whole wheat; two real eggs instead of egg substitute; and added one mashed banana. I don't have a food scale and had some difficulty figuring out the amount of chopped pecans it called for. I put in half a cup, and I think it could stand to have even more added. The two year old and the thirty year old both devoured them though, nice and moist, not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I have made this recipe quite a few times but have amended the original slightly, following the advice of previous reviewers. I used no oil and substituted with 1½ cups of apple or banana (I have used both), rolled oats instead of oat bran (next time I will use only one cup because they do have an oaty flavour which I would like to reduce slightly), two eggs, wholewheat flour. I added more cinnamon and also a touch of nutmeg and ginger and didn't use any nuts. This time I used frozen raspberries and bluberries and they were lovely! They taste healthy and of course they are not as light as fatty versions, but they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I was loooking for a recipe to use up some All-Bran in my cupboard, and this was a very good, basic Bran Muffin recipe. I also used up 1/2 cup of a dry fruit mix (golden raisens, cranberries, cherries) instead of the other fruit and nut ingredients I didn't have. I loved the texture and taste. Only reason I gave 4 stars not 5, was because they seemed to dry out in a day when stored in air-tight container, but this may be because of my dry-fruit substitutions. I would definately try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
After reading all the reviews for the recipe, I went out to buy the ingredients I needed. I was a little disappointed in the flavor of the muffins. I am addicted to a whole grain blueberry bran muffin from a coffee shop near my house, so I have a taste I am trying to achieve. I did think this recipe called for maybe a 1/4 cup too many blueberries. I've made different recipes with a cup, and this was half over. I also used 1 cup of all purpose flour and the remaining half using whole wheat flour, it's possible that combination ruined the flavor? They are not bad but I am not sure why mine didn't turn out the way the other reviewers claimed they would be...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This recipes is ok. I followed it exactly and I think it turned out as it was supposed to. The end product tasted dry and bland. There was no sweetness to it at all. It was definitely healthy. I might try reducing the bran and mixing in bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
These were great, I served them at a playdate. They were a good healthy snack for the kids. I put in dried blueberries and a cut up apple and I replaced a half cup of all purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour. Next time I will add a little more cinnamon and salt. I really like that these are not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States