Blueberry Nut Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I have made these muffins twice. The first time I used unsweetened apple sauce and the second time I used sweetened. Also, the second time I increased the amount from 1 1/8 cup to 1 1/2 cup. This made a huge difference. The second batch was so much better. They were delicious actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
These were delicious! I used half whole-wheat flour, a little more applesauce than called for, and only 1 egg and mashed a banana for more moisture. They turned out great! Next time I'm going to try dried cherries, slivered almonds, and almond extract as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I thought these sounded very good, but I decided to make a few changes. I substituted 1/2 the flour for whole wheat flour and added a little more applesauce. I used 2 whole eggs instead of egg substitute, added some lemon zest and a little of the juice as well. I also left off the granola but sprinkled just a touch of brown sugar on top. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
They were amazing. Probably the best bran muffins I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I changed the recipe around a bit and they had a great flavor. Even my pickier friends said they were fabulous! Instead of oat bran, I used 3/4 cup rolled oats and 3/4 cup wheat flour, and for egg substitute I mashed up half a banana. I also didn't put anything on top and I took out the nuts. The texture was a little dense, but they still tasted light. An excellent vegan recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
In the words of Rachel Ray, "YUMMO!!" I used 2 real eggs as suggested by another reviewer & I made them in jumbo muffin tins. They are not as heavy as I expected them to be. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
These muffins surprised everyone I served them to. They're great!! Healthy and deliscious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I used this recipe to make a bread, rather than muffins. I made a few changes: I substituted mashed banana for applesauce, used 2 real eggs instead of substitute, and sprinkled whole oats on top rather than granola. Baked for 50-60 minutes at 200C/395F, it turned out great -- nice and moist. I think next time I might mix in walnuts with the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
We really enjoyed these muffins! My kids liked the cakelike ones I made better but I thought these were very yummy. We used wheat bran instead of oat and skipped the granola topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
These were pretty good! Rose nicely, good texture. I used real eggs and walnuts. Didn't really need the topping. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States