Blueberry Nut Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
These were very good - I followed a few suggestions and made the following changes though: half white flour, half whole wheat; two real eggs instead of egg substitute; and added one mashed banana. I don't have a food scale and had some difficulty figuring out the amount of chopped pecans it called for. I put in half a cup, and I think it could stand to have even more added. The two year old and the thirty year old both devoured them though, nice and moist, not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I have made this recipe quite a few times but have amended the original slightly, following the advice of previous reviewers. I used no oil and substituted with 1½ cups of apple or banana (I have used both), rolled oats instead of oat bran (next time I will use only one cup because they do have an oaty flavour which I would like to reduce slightly), two eggs, wholewheat flour. I added more cinnamon and also a touch of nutmeg and ginger and didn't use any nuts. This time I used frozen raspberries and bluberries and they were lovely! They taste healthy and of course they are not as light as fatty versions, but they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I was loooking for a recipe to use up some All-Bran in my cupboard, and this was a very good, basic Bran Muffin recipe. I also used up 1/2 cup of a dry fruit mix (golden raisens, cranberries, cherries) instead of the other fruit and nut ingredients I didn't have. I loved the texture and taste. Only reason I gave 4 stars not 5, was because they seemed to dry out in a day when stored in air-tight container, but this may be because of my dry-fruit substitutions. I would definately try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
After reading all the reviews for the recipe, I went out to buy the ingredients I needed. I was a little disappointed in the flavor of the muffins. I am addicted to a whole grain blueberry bran muffin from a coffee shop near my house, so I have a taste I am trying to achieve. I did think this recipe called for maybe a 1/4 cup too many blueberries. I've made different recipes with a cup, and this was half over. I also used 1 cup of all purpose flour and the remaining half using whole wheat flour, it's possible that combination ruined the flavor? They are not bad but I am not sure why mine didn't turn out the way the other reviewers claimed they would be...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This recipes is ok. I followed it exactly and I think it turned out as it was supposed to. The end product tasted dry and bland. There was no sweetness to it at all. It was definitely healthy. I might try reducing the bran and mixing in bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
These were great, I served them at a playdate. They were a good healthy snack for the kids. I put in dried blueberries and a cut up apple and I replaced a half cup of all purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour. Next time I will add a little more cinnamon and salt. I really like that these are not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Pretty good muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These muffins have a great texture. I made them pretty much as is, adding a little of this and that for flavor. Will be making this again. Oh yeah I made them with whole wheat flour, no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I LOVE this recipe! These muffins are soo good and soo healthy. They are the best when they are fresh out of the oven, but they are also good later. My husband likes to pop them in the microwave for a bit and put a little butter on them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These were excellent. I made them for friends and family and everyone loved them. I did not have oat bran, so I followed other reviewers' suggestions and substituted wheat bran. They were delicious. I added 1/4 cup chopped walnuts instead of 1/4 ounce, since this amount seemed very small to me. I'm making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States