Blueberry Nut Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
As written I only give this four stars but with a few modifications I think it is a 5 star recipe. I wasn't crazy about the texture when I used as much oat bran as the recipe called for. So in place of the flour and oat bran, I use 1 cup each of oat bran, whole wheat flour, and oatmeal. I also replaced the 1/2 c sugar with 1/3 cup honey and left out the nuts. For the topping I used oats, chopped almonds, and just a little brown sugar. Thank you for a great base recipe that I was able to modify to my own preferences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
These are excellent, especially for a healthy muffin. Much better than I thought they would be. I followed the recipe for the most part, using ground flax seed as the egg replacement (2 tbs. flax + 6 tbs. water), whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose and I added 1/2 teaspoon apple pie spice. The batter was really thick so I splashed on a little almond milk to moisten it up. Also used muesli as a topping, and finished each muffin with a raisin on top. They were done at 18 minutes, like the recipe says, and have a wonderfully light yet moist texture with a balanced, mildly sweet taste. I'll be making these a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChuckNash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cohasset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
LOVE these! Instead of granola on top, we sprinkle a little brown sugar...heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Healthy tasty muffins, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I didn't have any nuts to put in them but they were still tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These were really disappointing. I was excited because of the good reviews. I used 2 eggs instead of the egg substitute, whole wheat flour and almonds instead of pecans. So no major changes. The muffins were lacking flavor and I should have known they would be a little dry due to the batter being extremly thick. I'll continue to make the Blueberry Zuchinni Bread from this website instead, its much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
EXCELLENT! I made a few changes to the recipe: I used: 1 cup oat bran and 1/2 c. rolled oats, a dash of ginger, 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla, 1 egg instead of egg substitute, 1 banana instead of oil, and 2 cups of blueberries. I also just used brown sugar for the topping. Thank you so much for this recipe! I just made it for the first time and cannot wait to make it again! It's at the top of my list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Tasty for a healthy muffin - I used bananas instead of applesauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States