Blueberry Nut Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I'm always looking for healthier versions of my favorite pastries. This one is a pretty good healthy alternative! Substitutions: used white whole wheat flour instead of AP flour (I found it at Trader Joe's), added 1 1/4 c. of applesauce, and 2 eggs instead of the egg substitute. I didn't add the granola on top, but I thought the muffin was good as is! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimsyl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
AMAZING, These are my go-to muffins. I changed only a couple of things: - used whole wheat flour instead of white. - no cinnamon - no pecans - no granola on top. really the best recipe for muffins I've found anywhere. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I was looking for a healthier alternative, and decided to give this a try. They turned out moist and flavorful. I used half cake flour and half whole wheat flour for a little more fiber. I also used blueberries and blackberries, just because I had some fresh blackberries I wanted to use up. My blueberries were frozen, so I reserved a couple of tablespoons of flour and tossed them with the berries. (It keeps them from turning your dough purple and sinking to the bottom.) I didn't have granola, so I pulsed 1/3 cup pecan halves, 1/3 oats, 1/3 cup brown sugar in the food processor and topped the muffins with it. Very good and I could feel great about feeding them to the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
These are great just as is, and they are also easy to modify. I used grated apple instead of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
These are great - especially since they are so healthy! I subbed 1 TB of flaxseed and 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce for the oil and topped them all off with streusel (1/2 C brown sugar, 1/2 C oats, 2 tsp butter, little cinnamon). I didn't have any bran so I soaked a little All Bran cereal in skim milk and mixed it in with the wet ingredients instead of the dry. My only issue was removing the muffins from the pan. I only used 1 cup of blueberries but they must have sunk while baking and ended up making the bottoms of the muffins too moist to remove from the pan. That said, they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Ortiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I'm not typically a fan of bran muffins, but these were surprisingly moist and delicious. I used blueberries straight out of the freezer and extended the cooking time by about five minutes, and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Changes I made are: 3 cups of a combined whole wheat flour with oat bran, 1 cup of applesauce and 2 bannanas, 1 C strawberries, 1/2 C Splenda brown sugar blend, 1/8 C Splenda White granulated, 1 egg plus 2 egg whites, 2tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp allspice. I's add more spices next time. No granola topping. I went to Calorie King to figure out the calories the way I made them because they have a good size and are dense so I was guessing 300 Cal but discovered they were only 200 CAL and 3.7g of Fiber. I will make these many times using varying the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakerschmaker23
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was a good recipe for bran muffins, but lacked some flavor. I substituted two eggs for the egg substitute and put fruit and nut granola on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerschmaker23
Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Mmmm. Mmmm. Good. Moist, flavorful, and not too dense. As someone suggested, I used two whole eggs instead of egg substitute. Everything else the same. Unlike a lot of muffin recipes, the batter fills the muffins tins to the tops. It is probably a good idea to use muffin liners, as I did not and the blueberry juice went syrupy during cooking and kinda stuck to the edges at the tops. I used a knife to circle around each tin and gently pull out each muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Love this recipe. It's healthy and still tastes good. The muffins are moist and not too sweet. Substituted 2 eggs for egg subst., mashed bananas for 1/2 the applesauce & used twice the cinammon and vanilla. They're delicious with or w/o nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States