Blueberry Nut Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
These are great - especially since they are so healthy! I subbed 1 TB of flaxseed and 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce for the oil and topped them all off with streusel (1/2 C brown sugar, 1/2 C oats, 2 tsp butter, little cinnamon). I didn't have any bran so I soaked a little All Bran cereal in skim milk and mixed it in with the wet ingredients instead of the dry. My only issue was removing the muffins from the pan. I only used 1 cup of blueberries but they must have sunk while baking and ended up making the bottoms of the muffins too moist to remove from the pan. That said, they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Ortiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I'm not typically a fan of bran muffins, but these were surprisingly moist and delicious. I used blueberries straight out of the freezer and extended the cooking time by about five minutes, and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Changes I made are: 3 cups of a combined whole wheat flour with oat bran, 1 cup of applesauce and 2 bannanas, 1 C strawberries, 1/2 C Splenda brown sugar blend, 1/8 C Splenda White granulated, 1 egg plus 2 egg whites, 2tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp allspice. I's add more spices next time. No granola topping. I went to Calorie King to figure out the calories the way I made them because they have a good size and are dense so I was guessing 300 Cal but discovered they were only 200 CAL and 3.7g of Fiber. I will make these many times using varying the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakerschmaker23
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was a good recipe for bran muffins, but lacked some flavor. I substituted two eggs for the egg substitute and put fruit and nut granola on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerschmaker23
Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Mmmm. Mmmm. Good. Moist, flavorful, and not too dense. As someone suggested, I used two whole eggs instead of egg substitute. Everything else the same. Unlike a lot of muffin recipes, the batter fills the muffins tins to the tops. It is probably a good idea to use muffin liners, as I did not and the blueberry juice went syrupy during cooking and kinda stuck to the edges at the tops. I used a knife to circle around each tin and gently pull out each muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Love this recipe. It's healthy and still tastes good. The muffins are moist and not too sweet. Substituted 2 eggs for egg subst., mashed bananas for 1/2 the applesauce & used twice the cinammon and vanilla. They're delicious with or w/o nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is a great, simple recipe. I didn't have applesauce, so I used about half a can of pumpkin puree instead. The batter was super thick so I added some buttermilk to thin it out. I also didn't have baking powder so I just used baking soda. It was great with frozen blueberries and chopped walnuts, and I left off the granola topping. Great way to get lots of nutrients in my diet, and my husband loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I made these muffins trying to get the most "bang for my buck" in terms of nutrition into my 15-month-old picky eater. He loved them as did my 34-year-old processed sugar lover husband! I rate the recipe as stated, but I did make two changes: I replaced 1/2 cup of white flour with 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and I did not have any cinnamon on hand so put a dash of allspice in. Fabulously moist and sweet. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Oh my goodness! These are absolutely fantastic - even my picky husband has devoured them! I doubled the recipe and got 30 muffins, not 24. I also substituted whole wheat flour, and sprinkled just a little brown sugar on top instead of the granola. Wow! Even a few days later, these muffins are just as moist, tasty and melt-in-your-mouth as when they were first baked. We froze the majority of them to have a quick breakfast on hand. Just defrost overnight in the fridge, and throw them in your toaster oven or mircrowave in the morning. Definitely beats skipping breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stareynoso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
A great healthy muffin. I use white whole wheat flour and fresh blueberries. Really tasty! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States