Blueberry Nut Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I've always liked bran muffins, mostly because they're pretty healthy. But now I found this one! It has so much texture--love the nuts. I use walnuts because we have a walnut tree. I used wheat bran because the store didn't have oat bran. I used frozen blueberries--so much flavor with them. I used 1/2 wheat flour once and they tasted the same--just healthier. They were moist and delicious! I've had lots of friends asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Rehoboth, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Very tasty! They are moist. My son said they were too healthy for him to eat - as he shoved a second one in his mouth. LOL! I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
add 2 tablespoons of grated orange peel to bring out the flavor of the blueberries, and substitute almonds insted of peacans and cut out granola, low fat or not it's extra sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This recipe turned ouy great but I did make a number of changes. First I only used 1 cup of oat bran and I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour instead of 1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour.Next I reduced the baking soda to 1 tsp. and the muffins still puffed up nicely.I reduced the salt to 1/4 tsp. and instead of the oil and apple sauce I increased the conola oil to 1/2 cup and made up the difference by adding 1 cup of no fat yougart. Like a previous commenter I used 2 eggs instead of the egg substitute. Lastly I increased the brown sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I found that 18 minutes was not enough bake time so I added 2 additinoal minutes. I will definitely make these muffins again. r
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I forgot to put the cinnamon in and found that you can taste the bitterness of the baking soda. I thought there seemed like too much when I was making them but the high bran content might need it? Otherwise pretty good. I'm going to try different kinds of applesauce in this. I think I'd like some of the flavored ones with a little more sweetness. I used unsweetened and thought they could be just a tiny bit sweeter to balance the heavy bran and point up the fruit. Blueberries are not very sweet so it seems to need a boost to the flavor. Honey might be a good replacement for the brown sugar to bring a tad more moisture. The heaviness of the bran seems to need a little more oven time and so the outsides get kind of dry in the time it takes to cook the middle properly. I found the 18 minute time to be accurate for two tins of 6 each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Made these last night,and we loved them! Only change i made was to increase the cinnamon a half teaspoon and added half a mashed banana to the mix before folding in the blueberries. Yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyewacket

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I'm always looking for healthier versions of my favorite pastries. This one is a pretty good healthy alternative! Substitutions: used white whole wheat flour instead of AP flour (I found it at Trader Joe's), added 1 1/4 c. of applesauce, and 2 eggs instead of the egg substitute. I didn't add the granola on top, but I thought the muffin was good as is! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimsyl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
AMAZING, These are my go-to muffins. I changed only a couple of things: - used whole wheat flour instead of white. - no cinnamon - no pecans - no granola on top. really the best recipe for muffins I've found anywhere. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I was looking for a healthier alternative, and decided to give this a try. They turned out moist and flavorful. I used half cake flour and half whole wheat flour for a little more fiber. I also used blueberries and blackberries, just because I had some fresh blackberries I wanted to use up. My blueberries were frozen, so I reserved a couple of tablespoons of flour and tossed them with the berries. (It keeps them from turning your dough purple and sinking to the bottom.) I didn't have granola, so I pulsed 1/3 cup pecan halves, 1/3 oats, 1/3 cup brown sugar in the food processor and topped the muffins with it. Very good and I could feel great about feeding them to the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
These are great just as is, and they are also easy to modify. I used grated apple instead of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States