Blueberry Nut Oat Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I made a half of 6 muffins so I cut the recipe in half; the muffins were absolutely delicious. Also made some adjustments (for 6 muffins, not 12): * 1 egg instead of egg substitute * 3/4 cup of apple sauce (my first time I used only 1/2 cup; that was too dry) but overall great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linh Tang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
VERY Disappointed as I felt there was very little flavor. I reduced the white flour and added 1/2 cup wheat flour to give added flavor to be more healthy, but it didn't help. Seemed to be very bland. I also used rolled oats which were supposed to be OK. Will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is an AMAZING base recipe. I've tried all kinds of variations (ex: fresh cherries in place of blueberries and almond extract instead of vanilla OR shredded carrot & raisin with rum extract to name a few). Can't thank you enough for posting this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeneralTso77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I ended up using this recipe so many times, using the base ingredients as the base of my recipe and switching up which fruit I added in. My favorite was adding craisins and walnuts (and I want to try orange zest with that next time!) and dicing up canned peaches or pears (or even fresh pears or apples) and baking those in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Tasty but a little dry for my hubby. I substituted 2/3 of the whiete flour with whole wheat so that could account for the dryness. I didn't have quite enough oat-bran so I topped it off with ground flax. Doubled the cinnamon and used 2 whole eggs. I do like the flavor and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
These were so great! The best bran muffins I've made yet. I used wheat bran instead of oat bran (since that's all I had in the house) and 2 eggs instead of the egg substitute. I didn't have the nuts or granola so I left those out. And I used half blueberries, half raspberries. I made all of these changes because I was too lazy to go to the grocery store, but I'm sure they would've been great as written too. Oh and I baked them at 350 instead of 400. It made 16 large muffins for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Took these to work and my co-workers thought they were the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
As written I only give this four stars but with a few modifications I think it is a 5 star recipe. I wasn't crazy about the texture when I used as much oat bran as the recipe called for. So in place of the flour and oat bran, I use 1 cup each of oat bran, whole wheat flour, and oatmeal. I also replaced the 1/2 c sugar with 1/3 cup honey and left out the nuts. For the topping I used oats, chopped almonds, and just a little brown sugar. Thank you for a great base recipe that I was able to modify to my own preferences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
These are excellent, especially for a healthy muffin. Much better than I thought they would be. I followed the recipe for the most part, using ground flax seed as the egg replacement (2 tbs. flax + 6 tbs. water), whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose and I added 1/2 teaspoon apple pie spice. The batter was really thick so I splashed on a little almond milk to moisten it up. Also used muesli as a topping, and finished each muffin with a raisin on top. They were done at 18 minutes, like the recipe says, and have a wonderfully light yet moist texture with a balanced, mildly sweet taste. I'll be making these a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChuckNash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cohasset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States