Blueberry Liquor Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Need to cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KimberlyPWood
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I just made this, so I'm excited to see how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
First let me say we looove this recipe!! I made 2 batches, the 1st with equal parts sugar/water simple syrup and the next 1 1/2 sugar to 1 part water. I bottled it in pretty bottles and gave away for Xmas gifts. I asked my friends which they preferred and all agreed the less sweet version won out. I agree. I'm making more tomorrow (I have lots of frozen berries from our bushes) and making with equal parts sugar/water. Hope this helps :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great recipe! Does anyone have an idea to use the berries instead of discarding then after the liquor is made? I'm thinking of mixing with some kind of sauce and putting them in a crepe dessert. Any suggestions? Have the strained berries in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
It sure takes a long time but very good. I forgot about it at 3 months so at 4 I mashed out the blueberries through the cheesecloth and added the cooled simple syrup and am drinking it now. I wanted it for Christmas darn it and we're not waiting anymore. Our neighbors loved it and want the recipe. I plan on starting another batch and trying some with raspberries or a mixed berry. I only wish I had made more to give for gifts. Don't wait, start now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Definetly worth the 4 month wait! We picked our own berries (cost about $10 and made six batches), then we finished up in December - - I had to go out and buy smaller decorative bottles for the gifts we were giving away, because we wanted more for ourselves :) You do not need to mix it with anything to make it "drinkable", but it is very sweet (think ice wine with a lot more "kick") You can taste the blueberries and the cloves are very pronounced (we used the 2:1 ratio for simple syrup) Six batches fills about 2 large vodka containers (or lots of decorative bottles)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is mellow and sweet! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I will admit that I know nothing about making liqueur, but I thought this sounded good so I gave it a try. It was very easy to make, and it turned out to be delicious! I was worried because I used a cheaper brand of vodka, but even with that it tastes good (I'm sure the more expensive ones taste better, but I was pleasantly surprised with my cheap version). I added some almond extract to the simple syrup after it cooled (I boiled 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of water for 15 minutes). I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Okay, today has been exactly four months since I started this recipe. I must say, the taste is not quite what I expected. I was expecting something similar to a port, i.e., a smokey, deep flavor. But this liquor has a very light, smooth flavor. There is no "bite" from the vodka. And the cloves give it a very interesting depth to its flavor. It almost tastes like it was aged in an oak barrel. All-in-all, I give this 4/5 stars, but I'm hoping that as the liquor sits in my decantur, that the flavor will continue to develop. I will review this recipe again in another month or two, and I hope to add the fifth star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
The 5 star is for how easy it is to make. I will update when this is ready in 4 months:) Just wondering... which simple syrup should i make the one listed in this site 1:1 ratio of sugar and water or the 2:1 ratio that is often used in cocktails. 2/14/08 update This turned out really good. A nice smooth liquor. My family and friends requested I make this every year for New Years. I used the 2:1 ratio in cocktails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States