Blueberry Lemon Walnut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Pretty good. Though this is SUPER dry without the sauce. DO NOT use brown sugar in the syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Geist
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This made a great looking loaf. I thought the recipe was fine -- the bread turned out moist and paired well with morning coffee. I doubled the recipe and I made one loaf as a gift for my mother-in-law and the other for my parents. The only reason I'm giving it four stars is because I just felt like it needed a little something extra. Maybe some more lemon in the batter or a different glaze. I like the lemon-sugar glaze as it is, but I think if I did more of a strudel type topping next time or a powdered sugar based frosting drizzle, it would be amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Geist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made this recipe into muffins (got 18 small/med sized muffins). The flavor of these was great and they were very moist. I found them to be extremely sweet and I did not use the glaze, and I have a massive sweet tooth. I will make these again but cut the sugar down. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
A little dry. Maybe I made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I agree that this is a good, moist bread. The only issue I had was with the glaze. I cooked it for a while on low heat, but it never boiled down properly. I added some icing sugar and it worked great. It's a lot easier to make a runny lemon icing rather then cooking sugar in a saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I've made a few loaves from this website, and this was the best one so far! It baked up nice and tall in a well-preheated oven after only 45 minutes, so watch yours carefully. The glaze added nice lemon flavor, and the loaf was moist enough. I used frozen blueberries, and the 2 eggs were large sized. I did make a few minor changes: I didn't bother roasting the walnuts, and I substituted plain yogurt for buttermilk. I omitted the vanilla extract (I always leave that out when baking). It is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Delicious! I used fresh blueberries. I also served with a blueberry sauce: 1/4 cup blueberries, 1 tbsp lemon juice, 3 tbsp water, 2 tbsp sugar. Let it simmer for 15 minutes until it thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I used cranberries instead of blueberries and it was great! Got a little hard during the baking, but after I took it out, I wrapped it in foil and that made it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsland, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This bread was pretty good however, I feel that it was missing a little something. I realized that it tasted awesome when you got a bite with the glaze on it. I'm thinking with a tad more sugar and lemon in the bread this would be a 5 star recipe in my opinion. I am willing to try though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a surprisingly good quick bread, easy to make and disappears like a magic trick, very healthy to boot. It's ALL good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States