Blueberry-Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Followed it to the letter. It makes too much batter, as others have noted. I should have taken some out and made a second loaf pan. It also needed to cook longer than an hour. Probably would have been fine if I had reduced the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Klima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Wonderful flavor! Big hit with our family, many compliments and requests for more. Thank you for sharing and the very helpful tip on flouring the blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KrI-sTyLeZ
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
pretty good! I didn't change anything because I like to try things as they're written and adjust it to my taste after ... a bit too lemony for my liking, but it baked up nice and came out moist! I also had to bake an additional 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Made this for a dinner party and it turned out great! Only modifications I made were adding a teaspoon of real vanilla, zesting two lemons and using their juice nd adding a teaspoon of lemon extract. I still thought it could have used a little more lemon punch, so next time I'll probably zest and juice a third lemon. But great recipe, and perfect year-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This recipe reminds me of one my great grandmother made when I was very young. It is a nice heavy, moist, and flavorful pound cake. Very rich, and very tasty. I added a bit of the seeds from the vanilla bean, which intensified the flavors. Wonderful recipe - thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was beyond refreshing. Used hints from others and coated blueberries with flour so they wouldn't sink. I also used lemon juice instead of lemon extract, probably adding half again as much as called for in the recipe. The cake took 15-20 minutes longer to cook than the recipe says. This was a perfect cake for paring with a lemon cream sauce pasta and dry champagne for a special, elegant occasion. We skipped a glaze and covered the cake slices with homemade whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This cake was DELICIOUS! I baked it in a regular bundt pan with no problem. After it cooled I poured a glaze on it as well made of confectioner's sugar, lemon zest, and enough milk to give it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I read some of the comments and adjusted the recipe accordingly. Adding extra lemon to the batter and increasing the baking time helped make a wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I'm rating this in the middle until I can remake the recipe. First off, the recipe batter is DELICIOUS. Problem is that the amount far exceeded my 10" pan...and I should have known better and split the batter between 2 pans, but I was in a rush and now I've got smoke alarms going off in my house! Most of the batter oozed on the oven floor and I'm running around venting the house. Also, because there is a higher-than-normal amount of sugar in this recipe, the top browned much quicker than in other cake recipes. I would give this 5 stars (as I was eating the batter!) for potential...but will have to try it again and make two cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Good flavor, but came out greasy and undercooked, yet VERY crispy at edges. Next time I will cook at 325 for about 90 minutes. I may cut back a little on the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wauchula, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States