Blueberry Lemon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I love this recipe. We have a local Blueberry Patch, and I think this is better than their own Lemon-Blueberry bread. The recipe is perfect, but I really love a LOT of natural lemon flavor so I was generous on the amount of lemon juice I added to the loaf, and I doubled the amount of topping that I poured over. I used frozen wild blueberries...It is an outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
As an empty nester, I no longer do much baking. My husband is not big on sweets, and that leaves only me to eat what I cook. This was perfect, less to eat, and between the blueberries and the loaf not being overly sweet, I am getting some help. I did sub fat free yogurt for the sour cream to reduce the fat content. I used the topping as a frosting, only because I didn't read the directions far enough to realize I was supposed to use the frosting as soon as the loaf came out of the oven. This probably could have used a little more lemon flavor, I had only one small lemon on hand. Even so, it rates 5 stars with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Omg love it. I triple recipe. My kids inhale it. Sooooooooo good. I add a tiny bit of cinnamon. Otherwise it's exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I added extra lemon juice to the batter. Next time I think I would add a bit of lemon extract. I kept this loaf in the fridge for well over a week. I did not find it to be soggy at all but stayed nice and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing this recipe. This is a gem. I have been making it over and over again. Only thing I changed is quantity of the lemons- I used 2 instead of 1, juice and all. My family loves strong lemony taste of it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Dang, I crack myself up. I made a mistake and had written down 1/2 C of sour cream instead of 1/4 C - DOH! Well, my muffins still turned out great! (I opted to do muffins instead and got 12). Used Buttermilk in leiu of milk. This recipe isn't overly sweet which I prefer. I did make more of the lemon glaze but added a tsp of white sugar and boiled it so it would be more of a heavy syrup. I also generously brushed that on about 5 minutes before they were ready to pull out of the oven. Made a nice shiny (slightly tacky) tart glaze. Due to my error they were also quite moist but not gunky. A bit too heavy on blueberries for myself (didn't flour them either) so I'll go with 1 C next time. I may try same batter with chopped fresh cherries and some walnuts. Oh yeah, I used 3 T lemon juice in the batter but could have used 4 (I love lemon). My muffins took 45 minutes to bake but I know it's because of that extra sour cream. Great recipe, even when you kinda screw up! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is my favorite quick-bread. I used the powdered lemon zest from Penzys. What a delicious combination! And it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
After reading the reviews, I decided to make this without the glaze. Some people say the glaze is what makes the loaf so good, but I was concerned that it would get soggy since there were only two of us eating it and it needed to last awhile. Even without the glaze, it was quite good. I did add extra lemon juice, just tasting a small amount of the batter and adding more lemon juice until I could really taste a strong lemon flavor. If you opt to make it without the glaze, consider adding a little more sugar if you want a really sweet loaf. Without the glaze, it's good but not particularly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I really enjoyed this cake/loaf. As I'm from Australia I'm not used to such sweet things being called a bread and eating this for breakfast? It seems like a dessert or something sweet to have with coffee which I guess explains breakfast ;-) I didn't add the topping but put the zest of 2 lemons in the cake. The step to roll the blueberries in the flour worked well. I also used 1 cup of all purpose and 2/3 cup of wholemeal. My cake was moist and had a good lemon flavour. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beverlyann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States