Blueberry-Lemon Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2002
Yummy! I was in the mood for a pie or something blueberry - this satisfied both cravings. I used a bag of frozen blueberry instead of fresh ones. My husband and 3-year-old loved it, too. We all had some for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
These were great. Everyone loved them!!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellie81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wayland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
My husband, parents and friends all loved these bars. I thought that they were very sweet and rich. You definatly need to work the dough with your hands. I used 1/2 nutmeg and 1/2 cinnomon for the spice. It is important to let these cool completly before slicing or they crumble (it was hard to wait!). I will make these again for afternoon tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
These were absolutely delicious! I read another user's comment about using your hands to mix the crust together, and that worked really well. I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These were fantastic! I got so many compliments on these bars. I did add a bit more cinnamon and sugar to make it sweeter, because I like sweeter, but it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Great recipe! As is, I thought they were perfect, not too sweet with a good blueberry-to-crust ratio although they might look a little thin in the 13x9 pan. You might want to use an 8x8 pan if you want a thicker bottom crust. The only changes I made to the ingredients was to use lemon juice instead of zest and to leave out the nutmeg (didn't have any). I don't have an electric mixer so I did everything by hand and it still came out great. For the crust, I actually melted the butter a little to make it easier to work with (10-15 secs in the microwave) and I didn't have any trouble mixing the ingredients or getting it into the pan from there. For the filling, I mixed the blueberries, sugar, and some lemon juice together first before pouring into the crust, instead of sprinkling, to more evenly distribute the sugar. For the crumb topping, I think I would cut in the butter next time as indicated for the crust since it came out more doughy than crumbly by creaming the butter & sugar together (still tasted good though!). As other reviewers have said, I would also cook everything on the min time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I agree with the others, cook in a smaller dish, i used my biggest casserole dish. But what I did like about the thinner squares, you can eat more than one! loved the lemon crust, had to squeeze a bit of juice into the dough, to make the dough more wet. Tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keshia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Fa-reeking awesome. Tossed a little lemon juice in with the filling and made a thin lemon icing to drizzle over the bars (1 c. confectioners sugar, 1/4 c. softened butter, little salt, fresh lemon juice until it's thinned down enough). You do have to use a little muscle with the crust if you don't have a Kitchen Aid to get all the ingredients evenly mixed. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
My family and I loved these bars! I used lemon juice b/c I didn't have a lemon to zest and added an extra cup of blueberries...took barely any time and effort to make them! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States