Blueberry-Lemon Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Lovely, tasty recipe. A summer time favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WhatThe?
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I don't have a sweet tooth that's what drew my attention to this recipe. However, this recipe has good flavor but desperately need sugar. 2 cups sugar to 2 tablespoon of sugar??? I added 1/3 of a cup and still thought it was bland. The brown sugar topping was rather tricky to add to the top of the bar. I ended up adding 1/3 of a cup of oats to give it more texture. Then I took small amounts of the topping and flattened to make it easier to top the bar. After 20 mins of baking it didn't brown so I turned on the broiler on low for a few mins and that have it a beautiful golden color. This recipe does need to be topped with powder sugar. Btw, I separately made the dough and brown sugar topping in the food processor and it made my life a lot easier. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Pretty tasty! I was concerned about the "cracker crust" some mentioned so I made this in a 7x11 glass pan and liked the way it turned out. I'm not a fan of nutmeg, though, so I think the next time I make this I'll either leave it out or perhaps substitute with cinnamon. Also - I personally thought they tasted better the next day. They were more of a crumb-cake dessert the first day, but there were a handful leftover and I stored them covered in tupperware overnight and they were moist and had a nicer consistency in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
These were absolutely delicious just after they cooled down a bit and were still slightly warm. They didn't taste so good the next day however and I was pretty disappointed. Something about the blueberries the next day seemed to turn more to taste like dates. Much better for serving immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Delicious, my only problem was that in a 9x13 pan the crust was stretched a little too thin, but as I'll definitely be making it again I'll make a little more next time. I also added a some lemon juice to the crust, as well as a few sqeezes of lemon juice and a little more zest to the filling. Using fresh blueberries was well worth the money it cost when I made these out of season! Perfect with coffee and when I brought them to work they disappeared before my eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Good, but not memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benbest
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The top half (cobbler - blueberry ) was just okay....a little sweet. The bottom "cookie" crust was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I would not change it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
These were great! I didn't add the lemon zest. I added lemon juice but I still couldn't taste the lemon so I added lemon glaze. The glaze made them even better. I only cooked them on 375 and they still cooked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Pretty good bars. The blueberry and struesel parts were delicous. The crust was "eh." It didn't have much flavor and I think that 12 mins was too long in the oven. Would try this recipe again but with lemon juice or something in the crust and putting it in the oven for only about 10 mins. Nevertheless, the bars were a hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States