Blueberry-Lemon Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
This is a good blueberry recipe. It took abit in making the crust, when forming the dough,you will have to use your hands to combine the ingredients. A utencil will not work. Very good taste, I would make these for a holiday. The two textures compliment each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
Yummy! I was in the mood for a pie or something blueberry - this satisfied both cravings. I used a bag of frozen blueberry instead of fresh ones. My husband and 3-year-old loved it, too. We all had some for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
A great dessert for fresh blueberries. The lemon zest really makes them special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This was delicious! The subtle lemon flavor in the crust adds a special touch. I agree with another reviewer that the crust took some work (with hands, definitely not utensils), but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
My husband, parents and friends all loved these bars. I thought that they were very sweet and rich. You definatly need to work the dough with your hands. I used 1/2 nutmeg and 1/2 cinnomon for the spice. It is important to let these cool completly before slicing or they crumble (it was hard to wait!). I will make these again for afternoon tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
Used 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Should have only baked the min. amount of time. Used fresh blueberries. Added an extra 2 Tbl. flour for topping due to very high humidity day. That really helped get the correct texture. Family enjoyed it with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Not enough berries. I increased it to 3 cups and still didn't really like these bars. Not much flavor and too crumbly. I think I also just wanted a dessert with more lemon flavor. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This was very good but required lots of effort. There are many equally good blueberry cake recipes that are much simpler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
These turned out pretty good. I made the crust in my Kitchen Aid mixer and it never really turned into a dough. I added 2.5 Tablespoons of ice cold water for it to form. I ended up baking mine for the full 25 minutes, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerriheffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I found this quite easy to assemble, a lot easier than making a pie IMO. I cut the recipe in half, so a pint of blueberries was perfect for an 8x8 pan. Cuz I wanted to really taste the lemon, I added lemon juice (along with a dusting of flour) to the berries and some more zest in the topping. Only problem is the oven temp and/or bake time -- my crust was done at 10 min at 400, so I lowered the oven temp to 350 to finish the baking and the bars were done in 15 (would have burned at 20-25 min at 400). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States