Blueberry Lemon Breakfast Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is THE BEST recipe EVER! My son is GF,egg-free, milk-free, and I am forever looking for nutritious breakfast for him. I did make alterations due to restrictions: almond milk for milk, sugar for maple syrup, and skipped the flax seeds. If you make it my way, it tastes JUST like Froot Loops. Major bonus for a 10 year old boy! He's eating it for breakfast and lunch and snack...need I say more? Oh, to address comment about bitter taste: yes, rinse it well. And then toast it in pan with butter for 3-4 minutes, stirring constantly, before adding water. (It totally changes flavor of quinoa. Without, all I taste is corn husks - bleh.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roozoonoomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Excellent and great change for a healthy breakfast. I cooked my quinoa with 1.5 cups of milk because I wanted to drizzle the finished dish with fat-free half and half. Very adaptable to using other fruits, sweeteners and spices too. I made the full recipe for just me and refrigerated the leftovers and preferred the dish chilled instead of warm. Good recipe Lilsnoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was really good! It was fresh yet rich- tasting, and the sweetness from the blueberries and syrup was perfect! Topped with toasted, slivered almonds instead of flax seed. A great new way to have quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Thanks so much! I only changed the milk for vanilla coconut milk and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Excellent! This was my first time trying quinoa for breakfast. It sounded interesting and I had all the ingredients. What a fabulous meal! I will make this over and over again and try different fruits too. My kids were a little skeptical, but they ended up asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I am the recipe submitter and wanted to clarify the directions. Allrecipes omitted a step when they edited my recipe and they suggested I clarify by leaving a comment here. Make sure to COVER the pot when you simmer the quinoa, otherwise the liquid will evaporate too quickly. Keep an eye on the pot because milk does have a tendency to boil over. After 20 minutes, there should still be some liquid left in the pot, so you have an oatmeal consistency. You do not want to cook all the liquid out of the quinoa. Thank you and enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! Substituting Vanilla almond milk makes it such a great treat!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Awesome!! Tasted amazing! Instead of fresh zested lemon I used 1/2 tsp of lemon peel in a jar (that's all I had). Turned out great. I would recommend cooking it a little longer than 20 minutes at such a low heat. Also, my girlfriend doesn't like Quinoa, but she loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I loved this recipe! I used almond milk instead of regular milk and didn't add flax seed as I had none. I also was without lemons so I used lemon juice and added a little orange zest. This recipe made for a great breakfast! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
LilSnoo, you just made my morning! I LOVE quinoa and will try pretty much any recipe I can get my hands on. This is an instant favorite in this house! I had to simmer the quinoa for about 5 minutes longer then the receipe states, but other than that, everything was perfect. Home run! Can't wait to try with different kinds of fruit and syrup. Thank you for sharing! I'd submit a photo, because it looked great as well, but it disappeared pretty quickly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Statler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States