Blueberry Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I was able to save on fat/sugar by doubling all ingredients except for eggs, of which I used only 3 total and sugar, of which I used 1 1/2 cups total, and making 2 loaves. I also omitted the glaze. It turned out both moist and sweet even with the cutbacks. I'd recommend to those having trouble with sinking blueberries to beat a longer time after the addition of each egg - it fluffs up the batter more and hold the berries in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Hubs said it best when he remarked that this was not what he was expecting when I told him this was Blueberry Lemon BREAD. Make no mistake - in our minds this was a tart/sweet, lemony, buttery, moist CAKE. I had to settle for only about 1-1/2 tsp. of lemon zest - it was all I had. But the cake didn't seem to be compromised by it at all - in fact, I might just use that same amount the next time I make this - because it was good, just as I made it. The crowning touch is the lemon glaze. To ensure the sugar was dissolved I made a syrup of the lemon juice and sugar, heating it to a boil. Worked perfectly and the resulting syrup was gorgeous. Rather than drizzling it over the cake I brushed in on gradually as it absorbed into the cake. Besides for contributing great flavor and moisture, it made the cake shiny and pretty. This is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I have made this bread before (posted pic) and it was really good! This recipe is almost the same as the Lemon Blueberry Bread on this site, which I have also made. It is nice to know that one lemon juiced is about 3 tbspns., and that you could reduce the salt to 1/2 a tsp. and it wouldn't hurt the chemistry of the recipe. Thanks for the post! ~Tan~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I chose to make muffins out of this recipe, instead of baking it in loaf form. I followed the recipe exact only I did not make the glaze. I just sprinkled each muffin lightly with sugar before putting the muffin pan in the oven. 350* for twenty minutes was just right. I got exactly 12 muffins out of this recipe that were medium sized. The flavor of this quick bread was quite good, I really adore the combination of lemon and blueberries. I think next time, I'd add more blueberries but as is, this is a really excellent quick bread recipe. NOTE: I did not cream my butter with the sugar. I just melted the butter, cooled it a bit, then folded it in with the rest of the wet ingredients. I wisked the dry ingredients together and then folded them into the wet until just moistened to prevent toughness and overmixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This was excellent. Only thing I did different was I didn't melt the butter like it states in the ingredients section. I just used soft butter added the sugar till light and fluffy. I didn't change anything else. My blueberries didn't sink like some others. It was very thick and it only took mine 60 min in the oven. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
Very good. The lemon added to the fresh blueberries. Will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I didn't have a lemon, so I used 4 TBS of bottled lemon juice and 1 teaspoon of lemon extract. I also increased the butter to a full stick. It turned out absolutely delicious! The lemon flavor was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This recipe was delicious...I added slightly more lemon zest, since we love lemon in our house. I also used frozen blueberries, and they didn't sink at all. I baked mine in an 8x8 square pan and cut into squares. Very yummy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was such a great combination of flavors. I followed the recipe exactly except that I only had 1 tablespoon of lemon zest. It still turned out great! Next time I'm going to bake it at a lower temperature (maybe 325F for 50 minutes) because it was a tad drier than I like. My blueberries did sink to the bottom despite the flour coating, but all I did was just flip over the bread and serve it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This is excellent!!I now know what to use all my frozen blueberries for.I read a few reviews on this and some said that there was not a lot of lemon flavour so I used 1 tbsp of lemon juice,a 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp of lemon extract.I also used vanilla milk instead of regular.It was just the right amount,very lemony and tasty.This is very moist and I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States