Blueberry Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
this is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I made it as muffins and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and omitted the glaze. They took 25 minutes to cook as muffins and made a perfect dozen. They were perfect muffins not too sweet with a good consistency. You can really taste the lemon but its not overpowering. They were very good I'll definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Was very good BUT it was really crumbly and hard to eat for us. Especially the second day, it was falling apart and really mushy. However, the flavor was good. Not sure how to remedy the other problem though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made this bread to take on a weekend trip with my daughters volleyball team. The other parents were actually offereing to pay me to make it for them for the next trip. Really good and moist and even better the 2nd day. A few extra blueberries never hurts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Followed exact recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Very good recipe. If you don't want your blueberries to sink to the bottom, coat them in about 1 tablespoon of flour and let them sit while you prepare the rest of the batter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SizzleCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is a great recipe, however I changed a couple of things. First of all, and this may be a typing error, but as another reviewer stated, it is not possible to cream sugar with melted butter and get a light and fluffy mixture. Therefore, I creamed room temp butter with 1/3 sugar for approx 5 min, then added one egg at a time (beating at least 5 min in between each addition). Also, I only used 1/2 cup sugar, and this was more than enough for us. And finally, I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. The end result was a light, airy cake-like bread that was delicious. As a side note, my blueberries did not sink at all. I washed them, let them air dry, and then mixed them with the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
When I made this, I doubled everything to make 2 loaves (same amount of work for twice the enjoyment)...what I did differently was to add the lemon juice to my slightly soured milk (had to use it before it was too sour). I let the milk sit and clabber...and it became more like buttermilk. Also, I did not melt the butter because melted butter will not cream with the sugar. Creaming the butter is the essential building block to baking; adding the sugar and beating for 10 minutes or so until fluffy is what determines the crumb of your baked item...I am a caterer/chef and unless I were making a muffin recipe, I would not melt the butter prior to creaming. I also put in 2 Tablespoons more of my juiced lemon to the doubled mix. On one of the breads, I sprinkled raw (turbinado) sugar before I put it in the oven...gave it a 'bakery appearance'. The second loaf had the glaze put on it...both were excellent. I substituted frozen lemonade concentrate for the glaze...excellent! Another thing I did was combine 1 part flour to 1 part confectioner's sugar (powdered sugar) in a separate bowl to roll the frozen blueberries in...they stayed afloat in the bread with no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Converted this to gluten free by substituting the flour for Mama's Gluten Free Flour Almond Blend and adding 3/4 tsp Xanthum Gum. Used fresh blueberries and fresh lemon zest and lemon juice. Also, used splenda instead of sugar. This is spectacular. Just the right amount of lemon. I did coat my blueberries with gluten free flour before adding them to the batter. Didn't have any issues with the berries sinking. Don't skip the glaze, it really brings it all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I loved it but my husband and sister both thought it was too tart. I think next time I'll use less lemon juice in the actual bread. Or maybe it was the glaze that pushed it over the top for them? I'm not sure but I will be experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hnyb_dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cibolo, Texas, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States