Blueberry Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made this bread to take on a weekend trip with my daughters volleyball team. The other parents were actually offereing to pay me to make it for them for the next trip. Really good and moist and even better the 2nd day. A few extra blueberries never hurts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Followed exact recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Very good recipe. If you don't want your blueberries to sink to the bottom, coat them in about 1 tablespoon of flour and let them sit while you prepare the rest of the batter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SizzleCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is a great recipe, however I changed a couple of things. First of all, and this may be a typing error, but as another reviewer stated, it is not possible to cream sugar with melted butter and get a light and fluffy mixture. Therefore, I creamed room temp butter with 1/3 sugar for approx 5 min, then added one egg at a time (beating at least 5 min in between each addition). Also, I only used 1/2 cup sugar, and this was more than enough for us. And finally, I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. The end result was a light, airy cake-like bread that was delicious. As a side note, my blueberries did not sink at all. I washed them, let them air dry, and then mixed them with the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
When I made this, I doubled everything to make 2 loaves (same amount of work for twice the enjoyment)...what I did differently was to add the lemon juice to my slightly soured milk (had to use it before it was too sour). I let the milk sit and clabber...and it became more like buttermilk. Also, I did not melt the butter because melted butter will not cream with the sugar. Creaming the butter is the essential building block to baking; adding the sugar and beating for 10 minutes or so until fluffy is what determines the crumb of your baked item...I am a caterer/chef and unless I were making a muffin recipe, I would not melt the butter prior to creaming. I also put in 2 Tablespoons more of my juiced lemon to the doubled mix. On one of the breads, I sprinkled raw (turbinado) sugar before I put it in the oven...gave it a 'bakery appearance'. The second loaf had the glaze put on it...both were excellent. I substituted frozen lemonade concentrate for the glaze...excellent! Another thing I did was combine 1 part flour to 1 part confectioner's sugar (powdered sugar) in a separate bowl to roll the frozen blueberries in...they stayed afloat in the bread with no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Converted this to gluten free by substituting the flour for Mama's Gluten Free Flour Almond Blend and adding 3/4 tsp Xanthum Gum. Used fresh blueberries and fresh lemon zest and lemon juice. Also, used splenda instead of sugar. This is spectacular. Just the right amount of lemon. I did coat my blueberries with gluten free flour before adding them to the batter. Didn't have any issues with the berries sinking. Don't skip the glaze, it really brings it all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I loved it but my husband and sister both thought it was too tart. I think next time I'll use less lemon juice in the actual bread. Or maybe it was the glaze that pushed it over the top for them? I'm not sure but I will be experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hnyb_dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cibolo, Texas, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is one of the best loaf recipes I have ever made. I will definitely make it again! Lots of flavour and a very moist loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
this was good, but needs more lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
WOW is the best way to describe it, I think...the sweet and tangy flavors just explode in your mouth. And it's light, but not airy, just line another reviewer said. Beat the butter and sugar well, I used it softened as suggested. To keep blueberries from sinking, I washed them and put in freezer so they'd be super cold going in. I made muffins instead of a loaf, as I have a 4 year old & muffins are an easier "sell." ;) I used confectioners sugar for the frosting, instead of white sugar. Make it, it's easy and DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Ham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States