Blueberry Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was very good - crumbly like a muffin when warm, but firmed up quite a bit overnight. The lemon flavor was also more subtle the next day. I thought it was pretty quick and easy to pull together and liked that it only made one loaf. There are only two of us and I like to bake often so smaller recipes are good for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is an excellent recipe! The lemon flavor goes wonderfully with the blueberry. My 3 kids (11,8 and 6) would eat the whole loaf in one sitting if I let them. Definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was a very good loaf but I made a few changes. I cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup, substituted 1/2 cup of the flour with whole wheat and used frozen instead of fresh blueberries. It was plenty sweet enough, whole wheat flour worked fine and frozen blueberries did not run as I added them right at the end and just stirred to mix. Although very tasty, the loaf did not rise much. I'm wondering if it would rise more using baking soda, and yogurt or sour milk instead of milk. I will try that when I make this loaf again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very Yummy!!! Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpurvis
Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe. I added a little less sugar about 3/4 cup and a little more blueberries. The blueberries should be lightly floured before adding to the batter. This will prevent the colour from turning your cake purple and hold its shape. Thanks for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was very good. I used 1/2c whole wheat plus 1 cup white flour and made the glaze out of powdered sugar instead of regular sugar. Will definitely make this again! Next time I'll try an even mix of whole wheat and white. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly except I did not add the glaze. It was pretty good but not fantastic. For as much work as it was I don't think it was good enough to make very often but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I'm rating my own finished results rather than the recipe here. I followed the recipe except left out the nuts because my hubby is allergic - added half a cup extra blueberries to make up for it. This resulted in a bit too overpowering, bit too blueberry-ish cake; I wouldn't recommend more berries but I think it's still good. I agree that the glaze is a bit overpowering. I only used maybe 75% of ours and it was still a lot. The entire cake was a little too pure sugary for my taste. If I were to do it again, I'd cut the sugar by at least 25%, maybe do a little brown sugar substitution, or maybe some apple sauce sub instead. But we liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very good lemon loaf! Mine turned out very dense, more like a pound cake. The lemon taste was excellent, and the blueberries were evenly distributed. I served it with Microwave Lemon Curd from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaRed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
WOW! really tasty! Used Meyer lemons. I also made lemon curd off this site and spread it on the bread. I love anything lemon and happened to have a bunch of Meyer lemons I needed to use. This is great with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States