Blueberry Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe. I added a little less sugar about 3/4 cup and a little more blueberries. The blueberries should be lightly floured before adding to the batter. This will prevent the colour from turning your cake purple and hold its shape. Thanks for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was very good. I used 1/2c whole wheat plus 1 cup white flour and made the glaze out of powdered sugar instead of regular sugar. Will definitely make this again! Next time I'll try an even mix of whole wheat and white. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly except I did not add the glaze. It was pretty good but not fantastic. For as much work as it was I don't think it was good enough to make very often but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I'm rating my own finished results rather than the recipe here. I followed the recipe except left out the nuts because my hubby is allergic - added half a cup extra blueberries to make up for it. This resulted in a bit too overpowering, bit too blueberry-ish cake; I wouldn't recommend more berries but I think it's still good. I agree that the glaze is a bit overpowering. I only used maybe 75% of ours and it was still a lot. The entire cake was a little too pure sugary for my taste. If I were to do it again, I'd cut the sugar by at least 25%, maybe do a little brown sugar substitution, or maybe some apple sauce sub instead. But we liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very good lemon loaf! Mine turned out very dense, more like a pound cake. The lemon taste was excellent, and the blueberries were evenly distributed. I served it with Microwave Lemon Curd from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaRed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
WOW! really tasty! Used Meyer lemons. I also made lemon curd off this site and spread it on the bread. I love anything lemon and happened to have a bunch of Meyer lemons I needed to use. This is great with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very nice. Blueberries were on sale, don't use them much. This was great. I used lime juice and lime zest instead of lemon however. Still great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very Delicious! Definiteky a keeper in my recipe box. I brought into my office and it was gobbled up. I did add some extra lemon juice based on other reviews but that is just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This tasted good, but the blueberries fell to the bottom, even after flouring them. Hmmm..I wonder if there's another trick to keeping them in the bread instead of on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
What a great treat with a cup of tea! The lemon is the perfect compliment with the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUESUE8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States