Blueberry Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Lyn
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
My husband and I couldn't wait for it to cool. It smelled so good while it was baking. It was perfectly lemony, not too overpowering. The only thing that I changed was that I put the sugar and lemon juice glaze into the microwave for a minute to melt the sugar. The only reason I did this was that I had used that glaze before on a lemon tea bread and my husband didn't like the crunch (grit) of the sugar. I will be making this again this week for a friend. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very nice bread/cake. I took the advice of others and creamed my softened (not melted) butter with the sugar before proceeding with the recipe as written and added a bit more blueberries (about 1 1/3 c.) dusted with flour so they wouldn't sink to the bottom. I also boiled the sugar and lemon juice glaze and brushed it on while the loaf was still warm. What I got was a delicious, moist and glossy bread/cake. Will keep this one on file. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was great, very lemony. I used a little extra lemon juice, and a powdered sugar glaze w/lemon juice made it even more lemony. I baked it in a bundt cake (35-40 mins) and it came out short, so next time I'll use a loaf pan. I also used softened butter, and took 2 TBL of the flour from recipe to dust the frozen blueberries with, then added it all to the batter. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this and rather than using a loaf pan I used a 6-cup bundt pan which worked nicely. I was a little shy on lemon juice and zest so mine wasn't as lemony as it should have been. In hind sight I should have added some lemon extract to make up the difference. I tossed my berries in flour hoping to keep them from sinking to the bottom, but most of them still did. Some of my berries were rather large so that might be the reason. I ran out of time and lemon juice so I had to skip the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Hubs said it best when he remarked that this was not what he was expecting when I told him this was Blueberry Lemon BREAD. Make no mistake - in our minds this was a tart/sweet, lemony, buttery, moist CAKE. I had to settle for only about 1-1/2 tsp. of lemon zest - it was all I had. But the cake didn't seem to be compromised by it at all - in fact, I might just use that same amount the next time I make this - because it was good, just as I made it. The crowning touch is the lemon glaze. To ensure the sugar was dissolved I made a syrup of the lemon juice and sugar, heating it to a boil. Worked perfectly and the resulting syrup was gorgeous. Rather than drizzling it over the cake I brushed in on gradually as it absorbed into the cake. Besides for contributing great flavor and moisture, it made the cake shiny and pretty. This is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
this is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I made it as muffins and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and omitted the glaze. They took 25 minutes to cook as muffins and made a perfect dozen. They were perfect muffins not too sweet with a good consistency. You can really taste the lemon but its not overpowering. They were very good I'll definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Was very good BUT it was really crumbly and hard to eat for us. Especially the second day, it was falling apart and really mushy. However, the flavor was good. Not sure how to remedy the other problem though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made this bread to take on a weekend trip with my daughters volleyball team. The other parents were actually offereing to pay me to make it for them for the next trip. Really good and moist and even better the 2nd day. A few extra blueberries never hurts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Followed exact recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States