Blueberry Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Good taste, weird texture - very dense. I don't think the butter should be melted - creaming it with the sugar might give it a lighter texture. I will also try making smaller loaves - a full size loaf took an hour and a half to set in the center, and the edges were burned. I'll try again with modifications - I want so much to like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Flavor is a 5 star, but I'm giving only a 3 star rating based on the fact that this is way more like a cake than a bread. I was hoping for more of a breakfast bread and this tastes more like a coffee cake. I do love the lemon/blueberry combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
So moist and delicious! I added the zest of one lemon and it had excellent lemon flavor and color. The glaze was really good on top. This makes a beautiful loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was soooo good. I followed the directions exactly. The flavor is great. We had the left overs the next morning with coffee and it was even better than the day before. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
THIS is a keeper! So easy & tasty - had to warn the kids to not eat it all or it would have been goobled up right away - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was just the flavor for which I was hoping! My lemon was small, so I added an extra dash of juice to the "bread," and I was able to use all the zest. Microwaving the glaze for a few seconds made it mix thoroughly. It looks like too much glaze, but it soaks in! Make sure to pick through your pint of blueberries and remove all the stems you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very good. Tasted like lemon pound cake with blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This bread is awesome! The lemon is a perfect touch! Do not hesitate to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I doubled this recipe, used almond milk and a butter alternative and twice the amount of blueberries called for. It's delicious. definitely more of a cake than a bread- but the flavors are great, the blueberries evenly distributed, and super moist. I'm curious to see how it will taste once it's cooled ,but right now it's nothing short of amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige Hankla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by toohahalarious
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This turned out GREAT!! It was more of a cake than bread but I was completely satisfied. =) I did make a few changes from suggestions of other chefs out there.. Instead of using melted butter, I used softened. Also, I microwaved the lemon juice and sugar for the glaze for a little over a minute. Oh and I had to bake it longer than it said, I ended up baking it for about 1 and a half hours. It turned out really moist and delicious.. Oh yeah, and I also used another suggestion to keep the berries from sinking, I put my washed my berries and put them in the freezer while I was preparing and mixing..and getting the lemon zest, then once it was time to put the berries in, I put a tablespoon of flour on the berries and mixed it up. I used a more berries than it called for..but heck, why not? =) Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toohahalarious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States