Blueberry Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very tasty, light, fluffy cake. I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I soured milk (~ 1 tsp lemon juice/1 C. milk) & it turned out perfect. Next time, since I love spicy gingerbread, I'll had more molasses & maybe 3/4 tsp ginger. But, that's personal taste. This is a great recipe my family loved. I'm enjoying it w/ coffee this AM too. Thanks JO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Really yummy...made it to share and everyone enjoyed it. I've made it once exactly as is (using frozen blueberries), and once with these substitutions: whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, lemon juice and milk instead of buttermilk. Enjoyed both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I had last year's blueberries in the freezer and I needed to use them up and this was an excellent method for doing that -- the gingerbread drew rave reviews at the office, and when I took it to a friend's house for dinner, and my kids loved it too. It's a good idea to cover lightly to keep the top crunchy. Wonderful served with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Wow! Loved this recipe. Followed the recipe exactly. Got rave reviews from family. Not to sweet or bitter - just absolutely perfect! I cooked mine in the tiny little aluminum bread pans, wrapped in christmas plastic bags with pretty ribbon and a little tag as gifts. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riverjess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I used another reviewer's suggestion of 1/2 brown, 1/2 white sugar. I also used soy milk and added 1/2 cup of walnuts. This was so delicious! I brought it in to work and my coworkers begged me for more! It's yummy warmed up with a big scoop of ice cream on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe is a surprisingly good combination (and i've been told close to an old fashioned gingerbread). I have made it a few times now and it holds great for lunch box snacks. The only change is we like a darker gingerbread, so we halve the sugar with brown and make sure the molasses is dark. If I am trying to sneak in some extra fiber, i halve the all purpose with whole wheat. These changes are just personal taste, great as exactly followed too. Definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Yummy! This turned our very good! I used frozen blueberries, I used butter instead of Oil. I think it's best eaten within a couple of days. When stored it stays very moist but if you want the thing sugarry top to say dry and crispy the bread will dry out after a couple of days. but whatever, its still good with a moist top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
It's passable; the bread was on the dry side and too sweet for me; I added toasted nuts and replaced the white sugar with 3/4 cup of light brown sugar. And the sugar on top was not necessary! The blueberries were not noticeable and I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
You gotta put ice cream on top. I didn't add molasses to the recipe and it turned out fine. Very yum. Today I am substituting the molasses for maple syrup and making these into muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Not bad, just not that good either. I had to sub honey for molasses. 'Don't love nutmeg, so I always halve it. I added a 1/4t cinnamon; which wasn't bad, but made it less gingerbready - more spicy. It has a funny look to it - shiny. It's almost similar to a cakelike cookie - like some Archway cookies are - but still moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States