Blueberry Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is easy and delicious, perfect for a back-to-school snack cake. Juicy late summer blueberries in cozy autumn spiciness. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very tasty, light, fluffy cake. I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I soured milk (~ 1 tsp lemon juice/1 C. milk) & it turned out perfect. Next time, since I love spicy gingerbread, I'll had more molasses & maybe 3/4 tsp ginger. But, that's personal taste. This is a great recipe my family loved. I'm enjoying it w/ coffee this AM too. Thanks JO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Really yummy...made it to share and everyone enjoyed it. I've made it once exactly as is (using frozen blueberries), and once with these substitutions: whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, lemon juice and milk instead of buttermilk. Enjoyed both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Crazy good, everyone loves this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Wow! Loved this recipe. Followed the recipe exactly. Got rave reviews from family. Not to sweet or bitter - just absolutely perfect! I cooked mine in the tiny little aluminum bread pans, wrapped in christmas plastic bags with pretty ribbon and a little tag as gifts. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riverjess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I made this for a friend who loves gingerbread and he gave this an "A." I used frozen blueberries and served it warm with whipped cream. This is a delish and easy dessert and it's not cloyingly sweet -- I'll make this again. Would be great with a cup of hot tea on a rainy afternoon, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaeOutWest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
We made this last night for my dad to take to an office party at work today. He's lucky there was any left after we tasted it because it's so good!!! Thanks for this! I'll be adding it to our family recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrownEyedGirl77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I used another reviewer's suggestion of 1/2 brown, 1/2 white sugar. I also used soy milk and added 1/2 cup of walnuts. This was so delicious! I brought it in to work and my coworkers begged me for more! It's yummy warmed up with a big scoop of ice cream on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe is a surprisingly good combination (and i've been told close to an old fashioned gingerbread). I have made it a few times now and it holds great for lunch box snacks. The only change is we like a darker gingerbread, so we halve the sugar with brown and make sure the molasses is dark. If I am trying to sneak in some extra fiber, i halve the all purpose with whole wheat. These changes are just personal taste, great as exactly followed too. Definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was really good, despite my trepidation about combining blueberries and gingerbread. It was really tasty. It didn't look that great because it was SUPER moist (maybe add more flour) and sort of fell apart, but people raved about it. Next time I was thinking I might use cherries instead of blueberries-- for some reason that makes more sense to me. Try the Boscobel Ginger Cake-- that's an amazing ginger dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States