Blueberry Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Amazing. Whoever commented that it was dry, is so off. This was amazingly moist and held together beautifully. Even more moist at a day old. I put 3/4 tsp ginger instead of 1/2, and didn't have the buttermilk so added a tsp of lemon juice to milk like another person advised. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsi Thibodeaux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very delicious recipe, but a little time-consuming to make compared to other simple cakes. Made as directed in the recipe but changed the blueberries to red raspberries since they are my daughter's favorite berry and this was for a Christmas Eve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Good, moist bread. I used chopped fresh apples instead of blueberries. It was good. After I curdled my milk w/vinegar, I added it to all the wet ingredients, made a well in the dry ingredients and mixed it all together (this saved a bit of time). The apples paired well with the gingerbread. I'd like to try it with two-thirds of the sugar and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
It's passable; the bread was on the dry side and too sweet for me; I added toasted nuts and replaced the white sugar with 3/4 cup of light brown sugar. And the sugar on top was not necessary! The blueberries were not noticeable and I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I used almond milk, used 1tsp ginger paste, and added 1/8tsp ground cloves. I skipped the extra sugar on top and the gingerbread turned out wonderful, not too moist, and not too sweet. The blueberries add a tartness that some may not like. Next time I'll add more ginger and molasses to make it spicier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was an EXCELLENT gingerbread recipe much like my grandmothers. I did not care too much for the blueberries but that may just be personal preference. I will certainly make this again - without blueberries it will be easy, quick, very tasty and very inexpensive - what more could one want? I used 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar as suggested by other reviewers and increased ginger to 1 t. so I can't give it 5 stars. Worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I got so many compliments on this! It turned out really moist and flavor-filled. Some at work ate it with cream cheese, which was also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALonis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Pretty good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
i didn't have to make any changes to the recipe, since it was great already. if you don't have buttermilk you can search up 'buttermilk alternitive'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
You gotta put ice cream on top. I didn't add molasses to the recipe and it turned out fine. Very yum. Today I am substituting the molasses for maple syrup and making these into muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States