Blueberry Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Wow! Loved this recipe. Followed the recipe exactly. Got rave reviews from family. Not to sweet or bitter - just absolutely perfect! I cooked mine in the tiny little aluminum bread pans, wrapped in christmas plastic bags with pretty ribbon and a little tag as gifts. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riverjess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very tasty, light, fluffy cake. I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I soured milk (~ 1 tsp lemon juice/1 C. milk) & it turned out perfect. Next time, since I love spicy gingerbread, I'll had more molasses & maybe 3/4 tsp ginger. But, that's personal taste. This is a great recipe my family loved. I'm enjoying it w/ coffee this AM too. Thanks JO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Really yummy...made it to share and everyone enjoyed it. I've made it once exactly as is (using frozen blueberries), and once with these substitutions: whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, lemon juice and milk instead of buttermilk. Enjoyed both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Crazy good, everyone loves this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is easy and delicious, perfect for a back-to-school snack cake. Juicy late summer blueberries in cozy autumn spiciness. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Brought to a family dinner and received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
GREAT bread!! Has been a huge hit everywhere I have taken it. Take blueberry cream cheese & blueberry preserves to spread on. Thanks for the recipe. (I did change it up a bit using almond milk rather than the buttermilk, applesauce instead of oil, 1/2 white sugar 1/2 brown as suggested in another review & unbleached all purpose flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Excellent - moist and great spicy flavor. I used fresh cranberries and it was delicious - and a little more seasonal. I also swapped out half of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat to try to boost the fiber and nutrients, and also followed the recommendation to use 1/2 brown sugar instead of all white for richer flavor. It is pretty sweet, so I could even see reducing the sugar to 3/4 cup. And now that I trust the original recipe I'm also going to try lowering the fat by swapping out some of the oil--though sometimes it's worth just going for the indulgence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is the perfect gingerbread recipe. I have made it twice, once exactly as written and once without the blueberries, double spices, and 5 tbs molasses. It is great as written, my hubby just isn't a blueberry fan so that's why I tried it that way. I will use this recipe as my go-to for gingerbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hagerman, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! Light , moist and flavorful. I do however cut the sugar in half and it's still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States