Blueberry Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
GREAT bread!! Has been a huge hit everywhere I have taken it. Take blueberry cream cheese & blueberry preserves to spread on. Thanks for the recipe. (I did change it up a bit using almond milk rather than the buttermilk, applesauce instead of oil, 1/2 white sugar 1/2 brown as suggested in another review & unbleached all purpose flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Really yummy...made it to share and everyone enjoyed it. I've made it once exactly as is (using frozen blueberries), and once with these substitutions: whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, lemon juice and milk instead of buttermilk. Enjoyed both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Excellent - moist and great spicy flavor. I used fresh cranberries and it was delicious - and a little more seasonal. I also swapped out half of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat to try to boost the fiber and nutrients, and also followed the recommendation to use 1/2 brown sugar instead of all white for richer flavor. It is pretty sweet, so I could even see reducing the sugar to 3/4 cup. And now that I trust the original recipe I'm also going to try lowering the fat by swapping out some of the oil--though sometimes it's worth just going for the indulgence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Wow! Loved this recipe. Followed the recipe exactly. Got rave reviews from family. Not to sweet or bitter - just absolutely perfect! I cooked mine in the tiny little aluminum bread pans, wrapped in christmas plastic bags with pretty ribbon and a little tag as gifts. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riverjess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Crazy good, everyone loves this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very tasty, light, fluffy cake. I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I soured milk (~ 1 tsp lemon juice/1 C. milk) & it turned out perfect. Next time, since I love spicy gingerbread, I'll had more molasses & maybe 3/4 tsp ginger. But, that's personal taste. This is a great recipe my family loved. I'm enjoying it w/ coffee this AM too. Thanks JO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is easy and delicious, perfect for a back-to-school snack cake. Juicy late summer blueberries in cozy autumn spiciness. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Brought to a family dinner and received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is the perfect gingerbread recipe. I have made it twice, once exactly as written and once without the blueberries, double spices, and 5 tbs molasses. It is great as written, my hubby just isn't a blueberry fan so that's why I tried it that way. I will use this recipe as my go-to for gingerbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hagerman, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! Light , moist and flavorful. I do however cut the sugar in half and it's still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States