Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made this for Christmas breakfast. It was good, but I don't think I would make it again. The bottom turned out very moist, which I prefer, and the top turned out very dry. My husband said that it was better the next day because after heating it up in the microwave the moist parts dried out a little and the dry parts became moister. Good, but I was hoping for something a little better. I enjoyed the blueberry sauce and may use that with other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! We made it for our New Year's Day breakfast and will do so again. I did do a small bit of changing like some others did, but only by upping the cinnamon and maple syrup a bit and I actually used all the eggs called for because I wanted all of the bread covered. I made it the night before and then as it finished baking I sprinkled sugar crystals over it. I did end up doubling the sauce because I have sweet tooths around here and there wouldnt have been enough to go around. Next time, I am going to try using several different kinds of berries as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by francesca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA
Living In: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I halved this recipe and was very happy with the results. I cubed the cream cheese very small, and would try spreading it on the bread next time as it was my favorite part. I only had 4 day old bread that was pretty hard and it still turned out great. Very yummy but it was hard to wait for so long for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
It was as good as it sounded. I did forget the syrup and think it needed it to make it a little sweeter. Also I cut back on the eggs as one reviewer suggested but next time I'll add the full dozen. I was a little short on liquid with only 9 eggs. I also added Cinnamon Plus and vanilla and recommend that. Next time I'll try spreading some the cream cheese on the bread and cube the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I followed some other reviewers suggestions and spread the cream cheese on the bread prior to breaking it apart- seemed a bit more distributed this way. This was very good, but I did cook a bit longer and wish the sauce was not so sweet. The consistency of the sauce was perfect, but way to sweet for our tastes. Will keep and make some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I spread the cream cheese on the bread, 6 oz was enough, used 8 eggs instead of 12, added cinnamon on the bread slices, & used 3/4 C sugar in the sauce instead of 1 C. 1 hour is a long time to wait in the morning for breakfast. The sauce was a pain & it took forever for the blueberries to burst. The taste of this was mediocre for all the time spent on it making it. You would be better off making regular french toast & serving blueberry sauce over it. I will NOT be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Delicious! I halved the recipe and made a few changes from the reviews I read and another recipe I had: used a little orange juice, vanilla and walnuts in egg mixture, along with reducing eggs by 2, and added a little orange juice (part of water amount) & orange zest to the blueberry sauce. I also used Challah bread and spread 3oz of cream cheese on sliced bread before cubing (from reviews also). Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was good, but not great. I like the sauce recipe as my husband enjoys blueberry pancakes, and now I have the blueberry syrup to go with it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is a great recipe. I drizzled a little of my buttermilk syrup recipe and it really made it a hit.(1 c. Buttermilk, 1/2c. sugar, 1cube butter. boil/desolve sugar then remove from heat and add 2 tsp. baking soda. serve immediately) But I will definately decrease the eggs and use more syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
very delicious! So easy to make. I followed the advice of minngal, adding the vanilla and cinnamon. I would have to agree with her. I think it is absolutely neccessary. Also when I took the dish out in the morning I covered it tightly with plastic wrap and turned the whole dish upside down to get the moisture more evenly distributed. I think that worked really well. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States