Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Yummy! I also made some minor modifications based upon other reviews: spread the cream cheese on the bread prior to cutting into cubes, added 1 tsp vanilla to the mixture, and sprinkled cinnamon before and after the bread layers. Instead of pouring the mixture over the bread, I put the bread directly into the mixture to make sure all the pieces were saturated. I didn't make it the night before, and it still came out great. Everybody loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe was okay...I was expecting a bit more flavor. I did add more maple syrup and then more again after it was cooked. I added the vanilla and cinnamon to the egg mixture as others had recommended. It was pretty good for something to throw in the oven if you have breakfast company but would try something with a bit more flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherria
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Delicious! Not for those counting calories, but wonderful for an occasional weekend indulgence. I love that I can make this the night before and just pop it into the oven in the morning while everyone is getting ready for the day. The used half orange juice/half water for the sauce and add some cinnamon because I like that flavour combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Pas, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made as is, and it was excellent, next time I would probably double the blueberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was pretty tasty, although the first time it came out more like a bread pudding...too moist for my taste. Second time, I softened the cream cheese, and spread it on the bottom layers of bread (whole slices), then topped with blueberries and cubed bread and additional cinnamon. I baked it an additional 15 minutes. The blueberry sauce was nummy, the second time I used Equal instead of sugar, blended it, and added 1/2 cup of corn syrup and 1 tsp lemon juice to make more of a blueberry syrup. My husband thought of it more as a dessert. (He prefers savory breakfasts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I didn't really care for this dish, I followed the recipe exactly. I think it's just a personal preference, but family didn't like it at all. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My family and guests really liked this when I made it with blueberries but,thought it was a little too sweet with the blueberry sauce. I made it with fresh cranberries last month and it was fantastic. I only wish I had gotten more cranberries and froze them while I could still find them. I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made this for Christmas breakfast. It was good, but I don't think I would make it again. The bottom turned out very moist, which I prefer, and the top turned out very dry. My husband said that it was better the next day because after heating it up in the microwave the moist parts dried out a little and the dry parts became moister. Good, but I was hoping for something a little better. I enjoyed the blueberry sauce and may use that with other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! We made it for our New Year's Day breakfast and will do so again. I did do a small bit of changing like some others did, but only by upping the cinnamon and maple syrup a bit and I actually used all the eggs called for because I wanted all of the bread covered. I made it the night before and then as it finished baking I sprinkled sugar crystals over it. I did end up doubling the sauce because I have sweet tooths around here and there wouldnt have been enough to go around. Next time, I am going to try using several different kinds of berries as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by francesca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA
Living In: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I halved this recipe and was very happy with the results. I cubed the cream cheese very small, and would try spreading it on the bread next time as it was my favorite part. I only had 4 day old bread that was pretty hard and it still turned out great. Very yummy but it was hard to wait for so long for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States