Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by JR
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
The french toast lacked in taste for sum odd reason. Regardless of the fact that I used a sweeter challah bread and added vanilla and cinnamon to the egg mixture. I'm very dissapointed with the outcome. The sauce was the only good thing in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
It was a lot of work, but well worth it! I had it with turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was an excellent recipe! I did add some cinnamon to the top of the bread, and I had to cook the casserole a little longer than the recipe said to make sure it was done in the middle. I also used Splenda, since I had a diabetic there, but it was still wonderful! Great recipe and will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I absolutely loved this. I made it for an office brunch and had none left and no complaints. The only thing I did different was to follow a previous suggestion of adding cinnamon to the bread layers. I did not think the sauce was too sweet, it was a nice balance to the lack of sweetness in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Atlasnamy
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Wow! If I had a bed and breakfast this would be a specialty! Hubby isn't too fond of blueberries so I added strawberry jam with a few blueberries. I may cut down on the suger in the sauce next time, as it is very sweet!! Very good recipe, my family loved it, and we will look forward to our next B&B morning in our own living room!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atlasnamy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I love to make this recipe. It tastes like it should be desert. And who wouldn't want to eat desert for breakfast? I am not a blueberry lover, in fact I usually can't stand them. This recipe changed my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.kyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was great. People were complaining that it was to gooey and didn't firm up. . but I had no problem. I used Italian bread from you local grocery store bakery. The crispy crust from the bread in the casserole was great. I considered not making the blueberry sauce but I'm glad I did. This recipe was perfect for family that came in from out of town. I baked it in the morning and served it with Baked Bacon. That way the bacon was done fast and I didn't wake anyone up! This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Yum! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out perfectly. It was not mushy at all. It was nice and crispy on top, and the cream cheese and blueberry sauce was incredible. I just topped with some powdered sugar, cinnamon and homemade whipped cream before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
UMM! I did NOT soak overnight and this was fine! Let it sit on counter for about 1/2 hour while oven heated up and that is it! It was great- I think that soaking overnight may even make it more soggy? Halfed the recipe and for sauce used about 1/4 C sugar- PLENTY sweet! I also added a bit of vanilla to the egg mixture and sprinkled cinnamon ontop of top layer of bread. Made in 8x8 baking pan which was a little hard to clean up. I may switch to glass pan next time. And would like to top off with homemade whipped cream! Will def make again- great way to use up stale bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I have 3 neighborhood brunches each year and this Easter Saturday was my second of the year. Each time I have served this dish to raves upon raves of my neighbors. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States