Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Awesome! So good and very easy. I did only use 8 eggs cuz these things were HUGE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
**** review for sauce only**** I intend on making this whole recipe... But for valentines breakfast it would have been too much food without scaling down... so... I made my usual french toast and made the blueberry sauce/syrup to go with it.... My husband fell in love!!! Have plenty left over and he either wants to put it on ice cream or use for blueberry short cake.. As others reviewed if you intend to make ahead, that this made with this amount of cornstarch will really thicken as it cools.. might curb cornstarch, but for me, I'm gonna reheat and thin out...*** Small change only*** I added a dash of vanilla...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I made this using homemade bread, following an earlier recommendation of adding 1 tsp. each vanilla and cinnamon, using 9 jumbo eggs. Incredible flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Wonderful! The only thing I changed is a little less cream cheese and cut up small or grate the cream cheese. A must try. I was asked for the recipe at church so I know others like it too!!! I think the bad ratings are due to people not making it right! That is the only explination!!! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very tasty and easy to make. Be sure to use the Italian Bread...regular white bread makes it too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorroth1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I followed others advice and used two cups of blueberries in the sauce and the french toast. The only issue I had was that the cream cheese stayed chunky and did not seem distributed well. Next time I will try beating the cream cheese into the milk and syrup and pouring it over the bread. We are also going to try it with apple, peach and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I have made the original and it was very good - however, if you want EASY and AWESOME, read on. First of all, you can make this the morning you serve it - it does not need to be made the night before. I let it sit on my counter 20 or so minutes before baking to let it soak in. Only 8 eggs are needed, mix in 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. cinnamon in the egg mix. I also use 1-2 cups of blueberries sprinkled with 1/3 cup sugar in the center and omit the sauce entirely. Serve drizzled with maple syrup and it makes this breakfast even quicker. What makes this French toast perfect is using challah bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Photo by JR
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
The french toast lacked in taste for sum odd reason. Regardless of the fact that I used a sweeter challah bread and added vanilla and cinnamon to the egg mixture. I'm very dissapointed with the outcome. The sauce was the only good thing in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
It was a lot of work, but well worth it! I had it with turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was an excellent recipe! I did add some cinnamon to the top of the bread, and I had to cook the casserole a little longer than the recipe said to make sure it was done in the middle. I also used Splenda, since I had a diabetic there, but it was still wonderful! Great recipe and will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States