Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
It was as good as it sounded. I did forget the syrup and think it needed it to make it a little sweeter. Also I cut back on the eggs as one reviewer suggested but next time I'll add the full dozen. I was a little short on liquid with only 9 eggs. I also added Cinnamon Plus and vanilla and recommend that. Next time I'll try spreading some the cream cheese on the bread and cube the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I followed some other reviewers suggestions and spread the cream cheese on the bread prior to breaking it apart- seemed a bit more distributed this way. This was very good, but I did cook a bit longer and wish the sauce was not so sweet. The consistency of the sauce was perfect, but way to sweet for our tastes. Will keep and make some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I spread the cream cheese on the bread, 6 oz was enough, used 8 eggs instead of 12, added cinnamon on the bread slices, & used 3/4 C sugar in the sauce instead of 1 C. 1 hour is a long time to wait in the morning for breakfast. The sauce was a pain & it took forever for the blueberries to burst. The taste of this was mediocre for all the time spent on it making it. You would be better off making regular french toast & serving blueberry sauce over it. I will NOT be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Delicious! I halved the recipe and made a few changes from the reviews I read and another recipe I had: used a little orange juice, vanilla and walnuts in egg mixture, along with reducing eggs by 2, and added a little orange juice (part of water amount) & orange zest to the blueberry sauce. I also used Challah bread and spread 3oz of cream cheese on sliced bread before cubing (from reviews also). Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was good, but not great. I like the sauce recipe as my husband enjoys blueberry pancakes, and now I have the blueberry syrup to go with it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is a great recipe. I drizzled a little of my buttermilk syrup recipe and it really made it a hit.(1 c. Buttermilk, 1/2c. sugar, 1cube butter. boil/desolve sugar then remove from heat and add 2 tsp. baking soda. serve immediately) But I will definately decrease the eggs and use more syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
very delicious! So easy to make. I followed the advice of minngal, adding the vanilla and cinnamon. I would have to agree with her. I think it is absolutely neccessary. Also when I took the dish out in the morning I covered it tightly with plastic wrap and turned the whole dish upside down to get the moisture more evenly distributed. I think that worked really well. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this for Christmas brunch and it was a big hit! Following some of the reviews, I used 10 eggs instead of 12 and added cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla to the egg mixture. I sliced the loaf of bread in half and spread the cream cheese over it before cutting it into cubes, which worked out really nicely. I ended up baking it for at least 40 min at 350 with the foil on, then turning the heat up to 400 and removing the foil to make the top a little crispier. I also used only 1/2c. of sugar in the blueberry sauce and added a squirt of lemon juice. Fantastic -- I will definitely be making this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Thanks for the recipe. I served it on Christmas morning and my husband liked it, but I was disappointed. I really wanted this recipe "as is" to be amazing, but it really needed several changes and I still didn't get it quite right. Although I added cinnamon, vanilla, extra maple syrup and twice the number of blueberries to the mix, the final result seemed to be lacking flavor. Here is my idea: Next time I will make more of a cinnamon roll glaze of butter, sugar and cinnamon on the stove and then pour it over each layer of bread cubes/berries. I will also butter the bread with cream cheese instead of dropping the chunks on top. Finally, I will make a less thick blueberry sauce to accompany the dish by adding more water and less corn starch. These changes should make it teaste more like french toast, I hope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Made this for Christmas breakfast this morning and it was a hit. I used the modifications suggested: 9 eggs, vanilla and cinnamon in the egg mixture. Used 2/3 cup sugar with the syrup. Also, instead of trying to cut cream cheese into little cubes, I just pinched off pieces with my fingers and dropped it onto the bread. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christykilgore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States