Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this 3 times thus far. The first time "as is". No changes to the recipe. It was good, but a little on the sweet side and no enough fruit. The second time I made it, I doubled the blueberries in the french toast, and left out the maple syrup. The third time I "healthified" used sprouted grain bread, half egg white/half whole eggs, 4 cups of berries, and a tub of low fat ricotta cheese. I liked the last one the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This & overnight blueberry french toast are very,very similar.Very.I read a lot of reviews from each - so,yes,I made some changes.Those reviews are very helpful.I don't feel badly about changing a recipe when so many have a certain problem or suggestion that was successful.To m'point!:)I followed the suggestion of making cream cheese sandiwiches, egging,then turning them over before baking. Some said the tops were dry.No problem with that after "the flip":D 'Used less eggs as suggested,too.(Actually,seven since my bread didn't fill the pan.I'd go for nine next time.)I added a little vanilla.A little melted butter would've been nice,too.Heyyy,maybe spread some melted butter on the top piece of bread before pouring the egg mixture over?!?That'd be nice,I think.I forgot the syrup,but I'd think baking syrup for an hour wouldn't necessarily be a good thing -&probably go to the bottom of the dish.'May add some mapeleine next try.The berries in with the toast didn't do much for taste except look pretty.The sauce I didn't make,but I'm sure it'd be good.I've made blueberry sauce before with pancakes.Yum.Oh,for the cream cheese,I put 2T sugar&an egg in with it.I'm not sure about the egg.I think half an egg would be better.It wasn't as creamy as I would've liked (but I got over it quickly :D).Grease the pan extra well -&you'll probably still have to soak.All n all,good,but not as good as regular timeconsuming french toast;but that won't stop trying this or other similar recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Cut the eggs to 8 like some reviews said and mine turned out rather dry, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Combined half and half with milk to give it richer flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made two pans of this recipe for a company breakfast club. RAVE reviews from my co-workers, many asking for the recipe. After reading the reviews, I too, added cinnamon and nutmeg to the egg mixture and a bit of lemon juice to the blueberry sauce. I also put small pats of butter on top of the product and sprinkled with sugar just before putting it in the oven. Will be making this for my family over the holidays as well. They will LOVE it! Two thumbs up on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by afshankhan
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I have tried this recipe.it was Ok not extra ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Instead of using cream cheese I used Greek yogurt along with substituting the milk with almond milk. It got great review with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was horrible! Would NOT make again. Not correct amounts of ingredients. Big globby mess :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made this as a part of a larger breakfast of maple syrup brushed baked bacon, fried potatoes with onions, and scrambled eggs. Made only 1/2 a recipe in a 8x8 casserole and it was more then enough for a group of six to have a serving with two servings remaining. Everyone raved and thought it was delicious!! However, the cream cheese didn't melt through out the casserole as well as I would have hoped. While my sister-in-law said she liked not getting a bite of cream cheesd in each bite, I think I like the suggestion of whipping the cream cheese with some powdered sugar and spreading it on. I believe it may give the dish a more consistent flavor. We were on vacation in a rental condo while making this recipe and I didn't think to buy powdered sugar, but will try that suggestion the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I can't believe how simply good this is! I chose this version because it uses only 8 oz. of cream cheese, which turned out to be perfect when cut into 1/2" cubes as MinnGal suggested. I left a few 1" cubes on one end, but when you're eating it, they end up being cut in half with your fork anyway. I think leaving the cream cheese in chunks is key to the beauty and taste of this dish. Soft creamy white bites contrast with bright blueberries and crisp bread cubes on top. I used sugar free maple syrup, and the bread cubes seemed to really pick up a yummy concentrated maple flavor. I served hot blueberry syrup on our first two servings at breakfast, and then drizzled the rest over the leftovers to refrigerate. It was like a cheesecake topping, and good cold also. We ended up eating this for breakfast & dinner the second day and lunch (I'm talking main dish) the third day. My husband already wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States