Blueberry French Toast Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
great to make for a crowd, and prep the night before. It's a fan favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I substituted honey for the sugar and it was tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valle Crucis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I enjoyed the flavor of this. Definitely need a tall glass of milk with it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
The instructions for this recipe leave a lot to be desired. However with some assistance from my good friends on the recipe exchange, I figured it out. I served this to special company for brunch and it was very good. I didn't have stale bread, so I used fresh and it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This really does turn out like a cobbler . . I don't know why I was surprised. It looks like a cobbler on top and if you flip it, lots of blueberries and juice. I didn't top with butter and don't think it really needed it--it was toasty and brown without it. Definitely use the sugar and butter mixture--was a bit tart but still slightly sweet. Apparently not sweet enough for the bf though, bc he added syrup to his. Easy and good. I don't like using two pans for this--only complaint, but it wouldnt' work without the two pans. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Too many blueberries and it got very soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
These were surprisingly tastier than I thought. I sprinkled the top with some uncooked oatmeal and cinnamon, for a prettier presentation. I used Splenda instead of sugar, added a chopped apple to the blueberries, and used Smart Balance spread instead of the butter (that was mixed with the fruit). Also used non-stick cooking spray instead of buttering the pan...good addition to the regular breakfast fare. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I made this for a fancy Mother's Day brunch. Everyone loved it! I halved the recipe, but I almost wish I hadn't. I also made it in a 9x9 instead of a 13x9. Just a few other things I did differently; for the milk I substituted half the amount with half-and-half, and used the rest 2% milk. I didn't have thick bread either, so I used thicker-than-average bread, soaked it in the milk mixture overnight as the recipe stated, and then I made 2 layers of bread when I assembled it in the morning. The blueberries and sugar mixture cook nicely and make a sweet syrup that soaks into the bottoms of the bread. No syrup needed! I warmed syrup in the microwave but forgot to take it out to serve; and nobody even noticed because it was so good on its own. My only complaint is that the tops of the bread, although browned nicely, just didnt have a pretty look to it in my opinion. Next time I may sprinkle a little extra cinnamon to give it some visual texture. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States