Blueberry French Toast Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
great to make for a crowd, and prep the night before. It's a fan favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I substituted honey for the sugar and it was tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valle Crucis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I enjoyed the flavor of this. Definitely need a tall glass of milk with it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
The instructions for this recipe leave a lot to be desired. However with some assistance from my good friends on the recipe exchange, I figured it out. I served this to special company for brunch and it was very good. I didn't have stale bread, so I used fresh and it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This really does turn out like a cobbler . . I don't know why I was surprised. It looks like a cobbler on top and if you flip it, lots of blueberries and juice. I didn't top with butter and don't think it really needed it--it was toasty and brown without it. Definitely use the sugar and butter mixture--was a bit tart but still slightly sweet. Apparently not sweet enough for the bf though, bc he added syrup to his. Easy and good. I don't like using two pans for this--only complaint, but it wouldnt' work without the two pans. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Too many blueberries and it got very soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
These were surprisingly tastier than I thought. I sprinkled the top with some uncooked oatmeal and cinnamon, for a prettier presentation. I used Splenda instead of sugar, added a chopped apple to the blueberries, and used Smart Balance spread instead of the butter (that was mixed with the fruit). Also used non-stick cooking spray instead of buttering the pan...good addition to the regular breakfast fare. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I made this for a fancy Mother's Day brunch. Everyone loved it! I halved the recipe, but I almost wish I hadn't. I also made it in a 9x9 instead of a 13x9. Just a few other things I did differently; for the milk I substituted half the amount with half-and-half, and used the rest 2% milk. I didn't have thick bread either, so I used thicker-than-average bread, soaked it in the milk mixture overnight as the recipe stated, and then I made 2 layers of bread when I assembled it in the morning. The blueberries and sugar mixture cook nicely and make a sweet syrup that soaks into the bottoms of the bread. No syrup needed! I warmed syrup in the microwave but forgot to take it out to serve; and nobody even noticed because it was so good on its own. My only complaint is that the tops of the bread, although browned nicely, just didnt have a pretty look to it in my opinion. Next time I may sprinkle a little extra cinnamon to give it some visual texture. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States