Blueberry Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe 4 times in the last month because my family RAVES about it, but I do alter the recipe a little bit, I do use melted butter and cut it just a bit because as much as I LOVED the thinly sliced butter covering the top idea posted by another person, my dad is on a low cholesterol diet, So I add about 1/4 cup of light brown sugar sprinkled over top to add moisture and help it crisp up, and I sprinkle some of the cinnamon over the top also, cause WE LOVE cinnamon! I am always asked to make it every sunday night. HUGE HIT! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
The recipe does need to be altered. It isn't wonderful without making some changes. there isn't enough butter in it to cover the top. I followed it exactly and when it was done I had dry cake mix on top in so many areas. I added lots of drops of cold butter on top and put back in the oven for atleast 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Very good! Love a quick and easy recipe. I added more blueberries (about a cup or so extra) since I had them to use up. Increased the sugar just a bit to compensate for the extra berries, melted some butter (used a little more than called for, as well) and chopped some cold (worked to give both textures in the topping) and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over the cake mix. I did need to bake longer, but that was probably because of the increase of berries, sugar and butter. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
What a tasty and EASY dessert to make. My picky picky hubby loves it and my equally picky son, who doesn't like blue berries really likes it too. I didn't have any ice cream so we topped it with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Could this get any easier? Very delicious, especially warm out of the oven. As one reviewer suggested, I mixed the yellow cake mix and butter in my food processor and it turned out great. I also used about five cups of berries because that's what I had so I just threw them in and it was perfect. The topping wasn't browned at 30 minutes of bake time so I added another 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I have made alot of dump cakes, I don't melt my butter, I slice it, not very big, it usually takes 1 1/2 sticks to cover the entire cake, then I cover with nuts. For the people who said the butter went through, and you like the cake, try it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Great cake. I used frozen berries and a spice cake. Like others, I did not melt my butter first but I did use a spray "butter" to fill in the spots that the cube slices did not cover. Next I want to try it with the lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
So good. So easy. So versatile; my local grocer had a sale on raspberries, so I did part raspberries, part blueberries and it was really good. In comparison to all desserts, this is not the best I've ever had, but it deserves 5 stars b/c of how good it is for such little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aboucher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Just got done eating this and YUM! I tried the suggestion of using a peeler to lay thin pads of butter over the cake mix and that, I think, was easier than trying to sprinkle melted butter over it all. There were a few dry cakey areas after baking so I threw a couple more pads of butter on and stuck it back in the oven for 5 minutes. Perfect! It truly was simple and delicious. Boyfriend liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This recipe is fabulous! You do need to be sure the butter covers the entire cake mix or you will have dry cake mix in the spots where the butter did not cover. Increasing the butter quantity a bit helps with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States