Blueberry Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Like someone else recommended, if you think 'cobbler', you will be more prepared for this. It was pretty good, although quite sweet and not cake like. For the cake mix to 'cook' you need to make sure the butter covers everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
The cake was powder on the top, and mush in the blueberries. It was also way to sweet. I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I loved this with vanilla ice cream!!! I did as another rater suggested and I thinly sliced the butter rather than pouring melted butter. I used a potato peeler with cold butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
If you've never had a dump cake before, you just may not understand how this is supposed to be....it is not a 'cake' persay.... think more like a cobbler and maybe you'll be happier. In my opinion the butter must be melted and drizzled over the dry cake mix---it's part of the charm. I don't even like ice cream on it, just the plain dump cake is YUMMY! Thanks for this recipe using fresh fruit--lots less sugar than my standard using pie filling! Try mixing a little almond into it if you want a bit of crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I did this as a no sugar added with fresh peaches and it was wonderful!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I wish I hadn't wasted the last of our freshly picked blueberries on this dish. It was entirely too sweet. I just couldn't eat it. Also, if any of the dry cake mix isn't covered in butter it isn't going to cook. Period. After the advised 30 minutes I had to brush melted butter all over the top of this cake just to get the dry cake mix to finish cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Definitely use a pastry blender to combine the cold butter with the dry cake mix. Sprinkle the cake-butter mixture over the berries and bake in 13x9 pan till bubbly and golden. Serve with ice cream and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I used a ratio of 1/3 blueberries and 2/3 sliced strawberries. I made it as directed but then wasn't happy with the way it was looking (dry and colorless) after about 25 minutes. I poured a little pineapple juice (about 1/2 cup) over the fruit to make it juicier, sprinkled some oats and brown sugar over the top, added more melted butter as others suggested, and it turned out really yummy and browned nicely on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Easiest way to make a cobbler type dessert I've ever made. Mixed the fruit, sugar & cinnamon in a bowl & poured into a buttered casserole dish. Used 2 1/2 c fresh blueberries & 2 c diced fresh peaches. Down cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. Up the butter to 3/4 c & cut into bits scattered on top the cake mix to avoid the dry cake mix issue. Baked 45 min & broiled last 2 to brown the top just right. Serve warm w/ice cream....OMG!!! Reminds me of down home cobbler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
One of the best desserts I have ever made next to pumpkin pie. For fewer calories and less sugar, use a sugar-free yellow cake mix and substitute the sugar for 1/4 cup of Splenda/sugar blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atwater, California, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States