Blueberry Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I believe this recipe definitely has possibilities, but as a number of other reviewers have suggested, it absolutely needs another approach with the butter on top of the cake mix. I used 12 oz. fresh blueberries and two large fresh peach--hence peach and berry dump cake. When I make it again I will add some lemon juice and reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup as 1/2 cup made it entirely too sweet. Even though I spotted the cold butter on top of the cake mix, it still had spots where it was just dry cake mix. Perhaps the buttermilk is a possibility or even cutting in the butter with a pastry blender. Will let you know when I make it again. Served it with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
YUMMERS! I sliced the butter length wise and laid across the top-fantastic!!!! I used dark canned cherries-drained and a 9x9 pan. The top is soooo good and the smaller pan made a nice thick topping,that wasn't dry at all. (lightly sprinkled a little sugar a cross cherries,didn't measure)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Billadeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Sorry, did not like this recipe. I found it too sweet. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
It was way too sweet with the sugar coating the blueberries. The butter did not cover the cake mix so there was uncooked mix on the top. I had to add 20 minutes to the overall cooking time to get a brown topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
You can't make a bundt cake out of this! I have used this for many desserts, and it NOT a cake. It is more a fruit crisp. It does work very well in a dutch oven over charcoal. We have used it with cherry pie filling, apple pie filling, pears(with spice cake), all sorts of berries, mixed or not. Blueberries are always a favorite. I have also seen it made with a bottle of Sprite or 7-up over the cake. I do like the 1 cup butter, however, but then I like butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great basic recipe for a dump cake! I used 2 cups of organic peeled, boiled pears (cut in approx. 1" cubes) & 2 cups of chopped fresh strawberries combined with blueberries & raspberries; so 4 cups total fruit, as per the recipe. I increased the sugar to about 3/4 cup to get a more syrupy consistency, kept the cinnamon the same (1 tsp). After baking 30 minutes, it didn't seem done enough & had dry spots here & there, so I melted an additional 1/4 cup of butter & baked it for 10 more minutes. It came out so beautifully and was delicious! My 26 yr old daughter has requested this instead of cake in the future. I had to write this after reading a negative review from a woman who claimed to have followed the recipe "to the letter" & gotten a bad result. If you're a cook, a recipe is a guideline, not a Commandment. Any good cook knows to use their judgement & experience to make a recipe their own. This is the first Dump Cake I've ever made, but it won't be the last & this basic recipe will be used many more times. *I used Betty Crocker Super Moist yellow cake mix, "with pudding in the mix"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I had a tub of fresh picked blueberries and this was perfect. Not too sweet, and just the right amount of crunch on the topping. I would recommend a little extra butter and keep it toward the middle, the outer edged seemed to have the blueberry juice coming up around the sides. I used a strawberry cake mix instead and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I just tried this recipe and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania L. Cross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Not overly impressed. I cut the butter into the cake mix instead of melting it. When it was done, you could tell that it was still dry. Melted another 1/2 cup butter and poured over top and baked for 10 more minutes. It was mush and was way too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amusedmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Iam baking it tonight. It looks so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States