Blueberry Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This dump cake is absolutely wonderful - wish I could give it more stars! I have a bunch of frozen berries that I need to start using before this summer's harvest. Read all the reviews and I did blend my butter and cake mix together before putting it on the berries. I used about 5 cups of berries and added a bit of cornstarch to the sugar them since the berries were frozen. Baked about 40 minutes. Great flavor and texture. Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Quick easy and my first time making a dump cake. I used a strawberry cake mix with the blueberries so YUMMY...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Tasted great but came out very thin in the pan...I might try a slightly smaller pan next time. Also I added about 2Tbl to the butter called for, one stick didn't cover as much as I wanted. Super-easy with blueberries and cake mix on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Forrester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Excellent and easy!! I used a stick and a half of butter, otherwise followed the recipe to a "t".....couldn't be easier, and it is really, really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I used fresh picked blackberries and served for my elderly mother's birthday party with only seven guests. There was only one small piece left and everyone ate French vanilla ice cream with it (no one is a huge eater either!). Obviously everyone enjoyed and complimented me. Definitely a keeper recipe and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was a great dump cake! I used frozen, thawed blueberries, added juice from 1/2 a lemon and a few grates of fresh nutmeg to the blueberry mixture. Everything else was the same. Should have fed 8 but I had a group of hunters at our cabin and with seconds, I had nothing left! Fed 5 very hungry hunters! With ice cream, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I followed everyone's suggestions and added 1/4 cup sugar but in spite of that, the final product was honestly 'sickeningly sweet'. My daughters generally love any baked item but it was not good even for them. The taste of the yellow cake mix was the problem. I used a Duncan Hines product but I have no idea how it ended up so sickly. I hate to give it 1 star. In my daughter's words - no point eating empty calories if we don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I believe this recipe definitely has possibilities, but as a number of other reviewers have suggested, it absolutely needs another approach with the butter on top of the cake mix. I used 12 oz. fresh blueberries and two large fresh peach--hence peach and berry dump cake. When I make it again I will add some lemon juice and reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup as 1/2 cup made it entirely too sweet. Even though I spotted the cold butter on top of the cake mix, it still had spots where it was just dry cake mix. Perhaps the buttermilk is a possibility or even cutting in the butter with a pastry blender. Will let you know when I make it again. Served it with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
YUMMERS! I sliced the butter length wise and laid across the top-fantastic!!!! I used dark canned cherries-drained and a 9x9 pan. The top is soooo good and the smaller pan made a nice thick topping,that wasn't dry at all. (lightly sprinkled a little sugar a cross cherries,didn't measure)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Billadeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Sorry, did not like this recipe. I found it too sweet. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States