Blueberry Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great basic recipe for a dump cake! I used 2 cups of organic peeled, boiled pears (cut in approx. 1" cubes) & 2 cups of chopped fresh strawberries combined with blueberries & raspberries; so 4 cups total fruit, as per the recipe. I increased the sugar to about 3/4 cup to get a more syrupy consistency, kept the cinnamon the same (1 tsp). After baking 30 minutes, it didn't seem done enough & had dry spots here & there, so I melted an additional 1/4 cup of butter & baked it for 10 more minutes. It came out so beautifully and was delicious! My 26 yr old daughter has requested this instead of cake in the future. I had to write this after reading a negative review from a woman who claimed to have followed the recipe "to the letter" & gotten a bad result. If you're a cook, a recipe is a guideline, not a Commandment. Any good cook knows to use their judgement & experience to make a recipe their own. This is the first Dump Cake I've ever made, but it won't be the last & this basic recipe will be used many more times. *I used Betty Crocker Super Moist yellow cake mix, "with pudding in the mix"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I had a tub of fresh picked blueberries and this was perfect. Not too sweet, and just the right amount of crunch on the topping. I would recommend a little extra butter and keep it toward the middle, the outer edged seemed to have the blueberry juice coming up around the sides. I used a strawberry cake mix instead and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I just tried this recipe and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania L. Cross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Not overly impressed. I cut the butter into the cake mix instead of melting it. When it was done, you could tell that it was still dry. Melted another 1/2 cup butter and poured over top and baked for 10 more minutes. It was mush and was way too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amusedmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Iam baking it tonight. It looks so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
this is my first review but this recipe was so good and easy to follow I had to write this. I did use lemon cake mix however instead of yellow and baked it a little longer so the cake is crunchy and it was delicious within two days the whole pan was gone the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmonie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
It was too sweet for my taste. There is already sugar in the cake mix so a half cup sugar was too much. I will make it again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Wonderful and easy. Went with other reviewers about crumbling the butter into the cake mix. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I've made this recipe with cherry pie filling and crushed pineapples instead of blueberries and it's been amazing! I am excited to try with fresh/frozen blueberries rather than canned pie filling. I do agree with the other reviewers that it is best to cut the butter into thin slices and place on top of the cake mix to keep it from drying out. It's a huge favorite whenever I make it for an event or family get together. Instead of using 1 cup or 2 sticks of butter, I only used 1 and a half sticks, distributing the butter evenly on top of the cake and it still turned out well and makes it slightly less fattening, however this cake really doesn't have many redeeming qualities as far as health goes! But it is very delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is my go to recipe for dessert! I used lemon cake mix, and also cut the butter in pieces on the top so it wouldn't dry out. I used frozen blueberries and raspberries - super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States