Blueberry Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
My husband and kids went BONKERS for this recipe! My mother made something similar with pinapple and cherries when I was a child, haven't had it since then. I had fresh blueberries that needed to be used up and I felt nastolgic after reading this recipe... this was delicious!!! I took Snocu's advice from the reviews and did not melt the butter, but sliced it thin and made a layer over top. I added fresh lemon juice from half a lemon and a bit of nutmeg to the berries. I also used Betty Crocker's Moist French Vanilla cake mix. My husband and children DEMANDED that I make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I gave this four stars because I do not agree with the melted butter idea. If you cut the butter in slices and evenly place them over the topping, then it will not dry out as other reviewers have complained. Delicious recipe, can be halved easily for those of us with smaller numbers to feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This is AWESOME. As for the reviewer who said it didn't turn out b/c she used a bundt pan...it's not a "normal" cake, it's a dump cake...it doesn't form into a "bundt" shape. It's supposed to be dry in some areas b/c you scoop it out and serve it with ice cream, YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avius

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Very. very tastey. Here are the changes that I made with the recipe...I didn't have a yellow cake mix so I used a lemon cake mix. Many blueberry recipes include lemon juice, so I figured this would be alright. It tasted fabulous! I can't imagine it without the lemon cake mix. Also, several of the reviews on this recipe complained about the topping so instead of melting the butter, I used my food processor and cut cold butter into the mix. That way it would be evenly distributed. Instead of a 9x13 pan, I used 2 glass pie plates and divided the ingredients equally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I don't like to leave bad reviews on recipes, but in this case I feel I must. I followed this recipe to the letter..the only change I made wasn't in ingredients but I used a bundt pan instead of a 9" by 11" pan. I baked it longer than stated and it still was like batter in some areas and dry cake mix in others. I just wouldn't and can't recomend this to anyone, sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Very good and simple to make! I used frozen blueberries, a cup of melted butter (instead of 1/2 cup) and baked it for about 50 minutes. It turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
What a waste of my good blueberries! I followed the recipe exactly, and ended up with dry cake mix on top with clumps where the butter had pooled. I mixed it all up and put it back in the oven to see if I could salvage it, and ended up with a big pile of overly sweet blueberry mush. Oh well, maybe it's all in what brand of cake mix you use, but I'll never try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
This is one of those things that makes you go "MMMMM..." We had been berry picking this past weekend and I used fresh blackberries. It is really good. Did I mention how good it is? I used a Duncan Hines Golden Butter cake mix, added cinnamon and sugar and 1 cup of oats. (Sprinkled on the top of the berries, before the cake mix) I also increased the butter to 1 cup. Would be good with other fruits too. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This dish was delish! Warm with vanilla ice cream. It was a grand slam with my husband! I used a Pillsbury french vanilla cake mix instead of the yellow cake mix, because that's what I had in the house. Now that is my topping of choice. I also used an extra 1/2 stick of butter to cover the dry spots. Next time I make it, I think I'll throw in some raspberries in addition to the blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I've been on a blueberry kick. I was going to make muffins or cake but when I searched this recipe came up first. Glad it did. WOW is this good. I omitted the cinamin though and used a larger cake mix and more blueberries so I added a little more butter. I also baked it a little longer. BUT THIS IS GOOOOOOODDDDD! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States