Blueberry Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
30 years of baking this and taking it to events and always take several recipe cards along as I am always being asked for the recipe. Now my 3 adult children make this for their events as well. I now add 1 tsp. of cinnamon for a nice twist and the lemon cake mix is awesome as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe 4 times in the last month because my family RAVES about it, but I do alter the recipe a little bit, I do use melted butter and cut it just a bit because as much as I LOVED the thinly sliced butter covering the top idea posted by another person, my dad is on a low cholesterol diet, So I add about 1/4 cup of light brown sugar sprinkled over top to add moisture and help it crisp up, and I sprinkle some of the cinnamon over the top also, cause WE LOVE cinnamon! I am always asked to make it every sunday night. HUGE HIT! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
The recipe does need to be altered. It isn't wonderful without making some changes. there isn't enough butter in it to cover the top. I followed it exactly and when it was done I had dry cake mix on top in so many areas. I added lots of drops of cold butter on top and put back in the oven for atleast 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Very good! Love a quick and easy recipe. I added more blueberries (about a cup or so extra) since I had them to use up. Increased the sugar just a bit to compensate for the extra berries, melted some butter (used a little more than called for, as well) and chopped some cold (worked to give both textures in the topping) and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over the cake mix. I did need to bake longer, but that was probably because of the increase of berries, sugar and butter. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
What a tasty and EASY dessert to make. My picky picky hubby loves it and my equally picky son, who doesn't like blue berries really likes it too. I didn't have any ice cream so we topped it with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Could this get any easier? Very delicious, especially warm out of the oven. As one reviewer suggested, I mixed the yellow cake mix and butter in my food processor and it turned out great. I also used about five cups of berries because that's what I had so I just threw them in and it was perfect. The topping wasn't browned at 30 minutes of bake time so I added another 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I have made alot of dump cakes, I don't melt my butter, I slice it, not very big, it usually takes 1 1/2 sticks to cover the entire cake, then I cover with nuts. For the people who said the butter went through, and you like the cake, try it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Great cake. I used frozen berries and a spice cake. Like others, I did not melt my butter first but I did use a spray "butter" to fill in the spots that the cube slices did not cover. Next I want to try it with the lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
So good. So easy. So versatile; my local grocer had a sale on raspberries, so I did part raspberries, part blueberries and it was really good. In comparison to all desserts, this is not the best I've ever had, but it deserves 5 stars b/c of how good it is for such little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aboucher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Just got done eating this and YUM! I tried the suggestion of using a peeler to lay thin pads of butter over the cake mix and that, I think, was easier than trying to sprinkle melted butter over it all. There were a few dry cakey areas after baking so I threw a couple more pads of butter on and stuck it back in the oven for 5 minutes. Perfect! It truly was simple and delicious. Boyfriend liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States