Blueberry Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I believe this recipe definitely has possibilities, but as a number of other reviewers have suggested, it absolutely needs another approach with the butter on top of the cake mix. I used 12 oz. fresh blueberries and two large fresh peach--hence peach and berry dump cake. When I make it again I will add some lemon juice and reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup as 1/2 cup made it entirely too sweet. Even though I spotted the cold butter on top of the cake mix, it still had spots where it was just dry cake mix. Perhaps the buttermilk is a possibility or even cutting in the butter with a pastry blender. Will let you know when I make it again. Served it with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
YUMMERS! I sliced the butter length wise and laid across the top-fantastic!!!! I used dark canned cherries-drained and a 9x9 pan. The top is soooo good and the smaller pan made a nice thick topping,that wasn't dry at all. (lightly sprinkled a little sugar a cross cherries,didn't measure)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Billadeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Sorry, did not like this recipe. I found it too sweet. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
It was way too sweet with the sugar coating the blueberries. The butter did not cover the cake mix so there was uncooked mix on the top. I had to add 20 minutes to the overall cooking time to get a brown topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I HAVE MADE DUMP CAKES OVER THE YEARS,BUT NOT THE BLUEBERRY ONE. I JUST BOUGHT BLUEBERRIES THIS MORNING AND AM GOING TO MAKE THIS RECIPE. I KNOW IT WILL BE DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
You can't make a bundt cake out of this! I have used this for many desserts, and it NOT a cake. It is more a fruit crisp. It does work very well in a dutch oven over charcoal. We have used it with cherry pie filling, apple pie filling, pears(with spice cake), all sorts of berries, mixed or not. Blueberries are always a favorite. I have also seen it made with a bottle of Sprite or 7-up over the cake. I do like the 1 cup butter, however, but then I like butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great basic recipe for a dump cake! I used 2 cups of organic peeled, boiled pears (cut in approx. 1" cubes) & 2 cups of chopped fresh strawberries combined with blueberries & raspberries; so 4 cups total fruit, as per the recipe. I increased the sugar to about 3/4 cup to get a more syrupy consistency, kept the cinnamon the same (1 tsp). After baking 30 minutes, it didn't seem done enough & had dry spots here & there, so I melted an additional 1/4 cup of butter & baked it for 10 more minutes. It came out so beautifully and was delicious! My 26 yr old daughter has requested this instead of cake in the future. I had to write this after reading a negative review from a woman who claimed to have followed the recipe "to the letter" & gotten a bad result. If you're a cook, a recipe is a guideline, not a Commandment. Any good cook knows to use their judgement & experience to make a recipe their own. This is the first Dump Cake I've ever made, but it won't be the last & this basic recipe will be used many more times. *I used Betty Crocker Super Moist yellow cake mix, "with pudding in the mix"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I had a tub of fresh picked blueberries and this was perfect. Not too sweet, and just the right amount of crunch on the topping. I would recommend a little extra butter and keep it toward the middle, the outer edged seemed to have the blueberry juice coming up around the sides. I used a strawberry cake mix instead and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I just tried this recipe and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania L. Cross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Not overly impressed. I cut the butter into the cake mix instead of melting it. When it was done, you could tell that it was still dry. Melted another 1/2 cup butter and poured over top and baked for 10 more minutes. It was mush and was way too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amusedmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States