Blueberry Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was delicious! Made it for company, everyone loved it. This would make a great potluck dish for brunch--we heated up the leftovers the next morning for breakfast. I did add a small amount of sugar (1/4 cup) per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
I thought this was really good. My kids weren't crazy about it. I thought it needed to be a bit sweeter so I sprinkled more powdered sugar on it before serving. Next time I may try raseberries and see if the kids like it better but as I said I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I never tried the original version of this recipe but I give it 5 stars with the alterations I made. Instead of honey, I added 1/2 cup sugar and cut the eggs down to 6. I also used frozen wild blueberries, which I prefer to cultivated blueberries. It was sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Axsmith
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Not over sweet. Personally, I find that to be a good thing because I think we drifted to the over-sweet in our food these days. This recipe reminds me of the food in my grandparent's bakery in Germany. I used gluten-free flour. It worked fine. I could taste a little salt in it, so next time I plan on halving the amount of salt used. I used Martha Stewart colored baking sugar on top, in addition to the confectioners' sugar. I love using that stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Axsmith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I've made this recipe many times as a breakfast for my family as well as when we have company. It's tasty, filling, and (I think) relatively healthy provided you keep the sugar on top to a minimum. Instead of honey, though, I use agave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was a huge success at church AND VERY EASY TO MAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was good. Followed others advice to only use 6 eggs. I used about 4 to 5 cups of blueberries, so as it cooked the juices came up and when sprinkled powder sugar over it making a nice sweek crunch on top. The only other thing I did was add 1/2 cup organic brown sugar. Oh and I did not use real butter, but parkay buttery spray (no fat or calories) which has salt in it so I did not add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was a nice dessert, quick and easy, but it just missed the mark when served warm. The custard was very eggy and could have used more sweetness. I had added extra berries which I recommend doing. However, the next morning we enjoyed this much more served cold with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made this a while back when I had to many eggs. This was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
So unbelievably easy to make and soooo very good. Not too sweet, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keakakona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States