Blueberry Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
wasn't overlly thrilled with the flavor but was a quick easy dessert to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERRINOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
I enjoyed this custard. It would be delicious for a Sunday brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
I thought this was really good. My kids weren't crazy about it. I thought it needed to be a bit sweeter so I sprinkled more powdered sugar on it before serving. Next time I may try raseberries and see if the kids like it better but as I said I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I used raspberries instead of blueberries and it came out fine, but it was definitely not sweet enough for dessert. I added extra sugar in the recipe, and ended up sprinkling more sugar on top before eating it. Without the extra sugar on top, it was like scrambled eggs with raspberries in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I liked it but it was very eggy - next time I will use more vanilla and sugar instead of honey. I might also try a stronger fruit such as raspberries or even a mix of berries. Also it was difficult to tell how done it was supposed to be - it was cooked and puffed around the edges but not in the middle - and it all fell as it cooled which was sad as it looked much less appetizing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Except for the fruit, this tasted and had a texture a LOT like scrambled eggs. The honey is mostly unnoticable as a sweetener; it might have been better had I followed the other reviewer's advice and added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Delicious!! We served it with a bit of whipped cream instead of the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
It was ok. Though, nothing to jump up and down about. I've used much better custard recipes in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
It came out more like flan than it did a traditional custard. It was very good though. My kids really enjoyed it. The top got a little brown, but that didn't detract from the taste. The flour also seemed to settle a little at the bottom, but that made for almost a crust. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I never tried the original version of this recipe but I give it 5 stars with the alterations I made. Instead of honey, I added 1/2 cup sugar and cut the eggs down to 6. I also used frozen wild blueberries, which I prefer to cultivated blueberries. It was sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States