Blueberry Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was delicious! Made it for company, everyone loved it. This would make a great potluck dish for brunch--we heated up the leftovers the next morning for breakfast. I did add a small amount of sugar (1/4 cup) per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
i added 1/3 cup of sugar and took away 2 eggs. still not that sweet. added a lemon sauce was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I've made this recipe many times as a breakfast for my family as well as when we have company. It's tasty, filling, and (I think) relatively healthy provided you keep the sugar on top to a minimum. Instead of honey, though, I use agave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This recipe is a good concept, but needs a bit of alterations: 1. it needs a ton of berries to fill the empty space - if you get a bite of just flan, it's very eggy 2. it needs increased flour as well, to save it from being too "fluffy" 3. i sprinkled a bunch of vanilla sugar and nutmeg on top, after it was baked - which also worked out the bland-egginess otherwise, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caxsmith
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Not over sweet. Personally, I find that to be a good thing because I think we drifted to the over-sweet in our food these days. This recipe reminds me of the food in my grandparent's bakery in Germany. I used gluten-free flour. It worked fine. I could taste a little salt in it, so next time I plan on halving the amount of salt used. I used Martha Stewart colored baking sugar on top, in addition to the confectioners' sugar. I love using that stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Maybe add two less eggs and a 1/2 cup of sugar instead of the honey. The original recipe was a tad eggy and more like a quiche than a custard; not quite sweet enough for my taste, as I made it for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I never tried the original version of this recipe but I give it 5 stars with the alterations I made. Instead of honey, I added 1/2 cup sugar and cut the eggs down to 6. I also used frozen wild blueberries, which I prefer to cultivated blueberries. It was sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
It came out more like flan than it did a traditional custard. It was very good though. My kids really enjoyed it. The top got a little brown, but that didn't detract from the taste. The flour also seemed to settle a little at the bottom, but that made for almost a crust. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
It was ok. Though, nothing to jump up and down about. I've used much better custard recipes in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Delicious!! We served it with a bit of whipped cream instead of the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States