Blueberry Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was delicious! Made it for company, everyone loved it. This would make a great potluck dish for brunch--we heated up the leftovers the next morning for breakfast. I did add a small amount of sugar (1/4 cup) per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
i added 1/3 cup of sugar and took away 2 eggs. still not that sweet. added a lemon sauce was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I've made this recipe many times as a breakfast for my family as well as when we have company. It's tasty, filling, and (I think) relatively healthy provided you keep the sugar on top to a minimum. Instead of honey, though, I use agave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This recipe is a good concept, but needs a bit of alterations: 1. it needs a ton of berries to fill the empty space - if you get a bite of just flan, it's very eggy 2. it needs increased flour as well, to save it from being too "fluffy" 3. i sprinkled a bunch of vanilla sugar and nutmeg on top, after it was baked - which also worked out the bland-egginess otherwise, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Axsmith
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Not over sweet. Personally, I find that to be a good thing because I think we drifted to the over-sweet in our food these days. This recipe reminds me of the food in my grandparent's bakery in Germany. I used gluten-free flour. It worked fine. I could taste a little salt in it, so next time I plan on halving the amount of salt used. I used Martha Stewart colored baking sugar on top, in addition to the confectioners' sugar. I love using that stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Axsmith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Maybe add two less eggs and a 1/2 cup of sugar instead of the honey. The original recipe was a tad eggy and more like a quiche than a custard; not quite sweet enough for my taste, as I made it for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I never tried the original version of this recipe but I give it 5 stars with the alterations I made. Instead of honey, I added 1/2 cup sugar and cut the eggs down to 6. I also used frozen wild blueberries, which I prefer to cultivated blueberries. It was sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
It came out more like flan than it did a traditional custard. It was very good though. My kids really enjoyed it. The top got a little brown, but that didn't detract from the taste. The flour also seemed to settle a little at the bottom, but that made for almost a crust. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
It was ok. Though, nothing to jump up and down about. I've used much better custard recipes in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Delicious!! We served it with a bit of whipped cream instead of the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States