Blueberry Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Not sweet enough to balance the blueberries. The honey didn't make it sweet enough. It was disappointing to my guest also. A lot of eggs and inbred. Not to turn out well. Will add white/brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I went along with some changes that were suggested by several reviewers. Pretty yummmy. I used more berries (4c) & they were frozen. I should've added more flour than I did, which was 3/4c. (No points off the review. My choice.) A cup may be too much, but I don't think it would take more than that. I used half cup sugar, no honey. Sweet enough. Reduced eggs to six & salt to 1/4t, as suggested. 'Didn't add any sugar on top - or nutmeg. This was quite unattractive, but with fresh berries & a bit of whipped cream or a mint leaf- or lemon twist - I think it might have a bit more selfconfidence. :) I put the eggs, milk & vanilla in the blender; then combined & slowly added (while running) the flour, sugar & salt. Easy McPeasy! I sprinkled the berries in the buttery dish first. :o ... Okay, update now that it's cooled: More unattractive & the flour amount was fine - only a bit of liquid in the middle. 'Reminds me of flan, which, in my mind, is a bit different than custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Made this exactly as listed, and although we enjoyed it, we weren't really sure it was a dessert. Not overly sweet, which is good, could have had more blueberries, and I might have suggested making it in individual custard cups, because the way it came out, my husband called it blueberry quiche
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This is a very good recipe. I did do a few things differently. I took advice from some of the other comments. I only used 6 eggs, used about 1.5 cup sugar plus some honey, I also put about a handful of blueberries in the blender. then poured the cup of blueberries into it. After it cooled down I used the 10x sugar, nutmeg and added a small amount of cinnamon. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I often use this when I have too many eggs from my chickens. It's easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
My mistake I didn't read the reviews. I followed the directions, didn't have a 9x13 so I used an 11x8 and dropped the temp to 350 and added time. Looked really good, went to eat, not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
So unbelievably easy to make and soooo very good. Not too sweet, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keakakona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made this a while back when I had to many eggs. This was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Not very good at all. When I went to pull a piece out it just fell onto my plate like a big lump. It resembles scrambled eggs not only by the taste and texture but by the look too. So it's quite off putting. I had even cut the recipe in half and only used 3 eggs. I added 1/4 cup brown sugar and it was only slightly sweet which might have been fine if it had came out custard like but the scrambled eggs kept throwing me off so much I just couldn't make my mind up on anything. Definitely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was a nice dessert, quick and easy, but it just missed the mark when served warm. The custard was very eggy and could have used more sweetness. I had added extra berries which I recommend doing. However, the next morning we enjoyed this much more served cold with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States